We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vey nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Roca

Bistro Roca
143 Wonderland Trail, P. O. Box 1929, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
828-295-4008
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Roca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 40 restaurants in Blowing Rock
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Pizza, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: One of Blowing Rock's most popular restaurants, Bistro Roca serves inventive American Bistro cuisine from Chef Michael Foreman in a rustic yet elegant setting. Bistro Roca's superb staff combines efficient service with gracious hospitality and will delight you with a great selection of wines and mixed drinks from Antlers Bar
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Vey nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Nice location set back from busy main street, great atmosphere, nice menu, very good service. Prices reasonable as well. Seemed to be busy with locals, which is a good sign in a tourist hot spot.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    289
    94
    41
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of our favorites in the North Carolina mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Upscale, casual dining in a great spot in Blowing Rock! Just minutes from the hustle and bustle of Main Street, Bistro Roca provides great food and service. We've been visiting for lunch and dinner for several years and have always had a wonderful experience.

The atmosphere is very nice, with vaulted exposed wood ceilings in the main dining room and comfortable booths. A very homey yet sophisticated vibe. The smells from the wood fired grill area are outstanding! We love the bar area, with plenty of seating options and great pictures of the dogs! Plenty of drink selections and the ability to offer from the menu.

Food at Bistro Roca is exceptional. We have several favorites - the black & bleu ribeye steak, lobster mac and cheese, and the flatbread pizzas top the list. Overall very consistent.

We are always pleased with the service. Our servers know the menu really well, and provide thoughtful, honest recommendations.

A consistent, cozy restaurant with great food....highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountains of nc
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants in the high country!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Bistro Roca is one of my all-time favs in Blowing Rock, if not in all of Watauga County!
Service is excellent. The waitstaff know what they are serving. Bar area is fun fun fun. Such an inviting, cozy bistro with fabulous aromas wafting from the kitchen.
Flatbread pizzas are always a favorite, so is the burger, iceburg wedge and mac and cheese at lunch.
For dinner, the Black and Bleu, Trout, Pork Chop, when they have it, and the beet salad, when in season, are always yummy. Brunch is also a treat. Everything is plated very nicely. The flatware is nice and heavy. The wine glasses are large enough to swirl your wine about. Very much a plus.
It is not just a restaurant, it's a destination!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Recommended by a hotel in Boone. Bistro Roca was perfect for upscale casual. Great food, service and atmosphere! Blowing Rock gem. Can be a little tricky to find. Use your map. Its worth the extra turns.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Relaxed setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Overall, I found this restaurant to be very good. The setting was rustic, and charming. The service was excellent. The selection of craft beers on draft was very impressive. The mac & cheese with lobster appetizer is must. The black & bleu ribeye steak that I ordered was cooked to perfection, but I almost cracked my rear molar on a small pebble either embedded in the steak or garnishes? Aside from the potential cracked tooth mishap, the dining experience was great.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Roca also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Bistro Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Roca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.