We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Roca

Bistro Roca
143 Wonderland Trail, P. O. Box 1929, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
+1 828-295-4008
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Roca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 40 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: French, Pizza, Mediterranean, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: One of Blowing Rock's most popular restaurants, Bistro Roca serves inventive American Bistro cuisine from Chef Seth Parker in a rustic yet elegant setting. Bistro Roca's superb staff combines efficient service with gracious hospitality and will delight you with a great selection of wines and mixed drinks from Antlers Bar
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Everywhere we asked locals where would you eat for your anniversary dinner and repeatly we heard people say Bistro Roca. We were not disappointed, my husband had the trout and my son and I shared the steak. The portions were just right not overstuffing, but also you didn't leave empty. The meals were wonderful and the ambiance was great. Just off the main road in historic Blowing Rock.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    128
    48
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gulf breeze florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun, happening place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I got together with 10 friends from all over and we met up in Blowing Rock for a few days in mid October. One of our friends has a vacation home there, and she likes Bistro Roca so she made reservations for all of us to dine there. They could not put a table together for 10 people, so we had to split into two groups. The food was good and the atmosphere was nice. It was a busy place that night. Our server was very nice.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We really enjoyed our dinner here - the food and service was wonderful. We loved the mussels appetizer and the Salmon entree was excellent. Their menu changes with the season and everything they can get local, they do. Great bar and atmosphere!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fall Mountain Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We had been hiking in the mountains nearby that evening, and had run into some cold drizzling rain. The warm, intimate atmosphere of the antler bar as we walked in was immeadiately comforting. Then we began to peruse the extensive beer and wine menu, and knew we had made an excellent choice. If you are a fan of Guiness I would highly recommend the New Holland Dragons Milk Stout. It was amazing. We proceeded to the dinning room after only a short wait, and were again astounded by the menu. The use of fresh local seasonal fair was tremendous. The roasted figs with goat cheese, local honey, and proscutto (sp?) was simply outstanding. The roasted vegetable platter with gouda fondue was excellent. And the staff were absoulutely the best. They were friendly, attentive, and well versed with all the menu and bar items. The restaurant itself was somewhat difficult to find, but was most certainly well worth the search.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous meal in a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We had a great meal at Bistro Roca! The wine was excellent, even though we were not familiar with the selection. My fish selection was over the top and my husband's pizza was very good.

While the restaurant is off the beaten path it is worth getting directions as it is only a block off the main road.

We will go back for sure!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Roca also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Bistro Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Roca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.