We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable winter stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Inn of Blowing Rock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Village Inn of Blowing Rock to your Saves list
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7876 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Lexington, South Carolina
1 review
“Enjoyable winter stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed one night for our 10-year anniversary, and we enjoyed it. The staff was helpful with everything, including restaurant and skiing recommendations. They even took pictures of us outside the hotel to help us remember the trip. The property itself has been renovated to have more of a mountain feel, and the landscaping was nice.

The room was clean and warm. And we enjoyed having the hot tub on the deck. The hot tub area isn't 100% private, but it's private enough to relax and enjoy yourself. The wine & cheese snack reception was appreciated because it held us over until we ate a late dinner after skiing. The breakfast offerings were basic and good, but nothing spectacular.

The hotel itself is not on the Main Street portion of Blowing Rock, and we knew that. It is within walking distance of all the shops, restaurants, etc. The hotel is very close to Outback Steakhouse as well as local places Twigs, Sledgehammer Charlie's, Woodlands barbecue, Crippen's and more. And the Tanger shopping outlets are a short drive away, as is the Appalachian Ski Mountain resort (very close).

The only thing we weren't totally happy with was the shower. It's a clawfoot tub, and my wife didn't like not having anywhere to put the soap and shampoo (I had to use the back of the toilet for that).

If you want a hot tub room, be sure to ask for it. And if you want a room that is (or isn't) pet-friendly, ask for it.

I can't recall the last time we stayed somewhere local on a vacation. We also had never stayed in an old-style "drive-up" hotel where you park right outside your room. But that was never an issue. Overall we enjoyed it.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    70
    30
    17
    14
See reviews for
22
130
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

My husband and I planned our annual ski trip this year for after Christmas until new years. We stayed at the Village Inn of Blowing Rock,NC. I must say upon first arrival we were wowed... the room we stayed in was fantastic. We loved the mattress and bathroom everything was clean and neat. I would definitely have recommended staying at this Inn until we decided to get into the hot tub after a long day of skiing. The water in the hot tub was only luke warm and when it is 20 degrees outside that feels like ice water. The jets would not stay on. I called the front office and went up to the office numerous times to only get the same response. "We will get our repairman to look at it for you". Well after 3 days of hearing the same thing....I think they need a new repairman. Needless to say it never got fixed. So my advice to anyone looking to stay at the Village Inn is to save the extra $139.00 for an upgraded hot tub room. The staff did not seem very professional. The employees were all very relaxed...talking on their cell phones, watching tv on the couch, etc. However, on a positive note they offered a good variety of breakfast foods and had snacks throughout the day.Also, they were in a great location we were able to walk to most restaurants and shops. But most of all they were only a mile or two away from the ski lodge so overall it was a pleasant stay for us.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Just because your traveling with a pet dosent mean you want to stay in a kennel! Actualy, I never smelt a kennel that smelt that bad. Then I was put in another room, which was not disegnated for pets, thought I would try it. Still old, dumpy and musty smelling. But I thought I can do this for 1 night. Wrong! Pulled the covers back and there was hair in the sheets and other unknown particles! But the Inn Keeper was very kind and understanding. People with pets dont take your pet if its not house trained or trained to puppy pads! Crate if their going to scratch up the door if you leave them alone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnsManager, General Manager at Village Inn of Blowing Rock, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
I encourage anyone reading this review that has not had an opportunity to visit The Village Inn and develop your own opinion of this property, to read other reviews that more accurately describe an experience with The Village Inn. Every single room was completely remodeled five years ago, and absolutely no expense was spared. We are very disappointed to find that even just one guest is not able to appreciate the beauty and elegance of our guest rooms. Furthermore, we advocate a special cleaning process after each pet's stay with us, so that it is virtually impossible to tell that a pet was even in that room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

The folks at the counter were very nice and helpful. The hotel was obviously a remake/remodel of an older motel which was poorly done with regard to insulation between rooms. Whoever was in the room next door snoored all night. In addition to the bed which was so soft / shot my wife and I had to fight to get to the edges of the bed. I was so glad to get our stuff together and get going in the morning. Had we known we definitely would have used the Holiday Inn Express. Usually the price is very competitive with this place and a whole lot more restfull too. The breakfast usually served there is pretty good too. Save your bucks, your back and give yourself a better breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

If you are looking for a cozy place to stay in Blowing Rock that is reasonably priced this is a great option. We had a room with the hot tub on the deck and it was very nice. Perfect amount of space and having the fridge was nice as well. I would recommend if you are looking for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnsManager, General Manager at Village Inn of Blowing Rock, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
How wonderful to hear that our guests are able to appreciate the value that they receive by staying with The Village Inns of Blowing Rock! We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Comfort of home, with rooms with hardwood floors, granite showers, flat screen tv's, and some rooms with California King size beds and private 2 person hot tubs...The Village Inn has it all! Every time we go to the cutest little town of private shops, Blowing Rock, we stay at the Village Inn. My husband and I have stayed there well over 10 times in the past 3 years. Very affordable, very friendly staff :). Couldn't sing its praises louder!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnsManager, General Manager at Village Inn of Blowing Rock, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
How wonderful that our guests are able to fully appreciate the attention to detail that was put into each and every room! This is also a very appropriate review of the town itself, and the charm that is portrayed to its guests. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleighwood
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Stayed here twice B4 in the last 4 years. Still noisy as it is next to NC 321. At least the fountains are back on after the drought hiatus. Bed spreads are old now and tattered. Beds are sway back from abuse. Bath towels are almost like sandpaper. Breakfast "buffet" is carb city. Don't expect any protein. Wine and cheese at 5pm was a bowl of super market pepper jack and a box of red and a box of white wine. Rooms are claustrophobic but the room is really not why you go to the mountains. We were booked into Hillwinds or the other one but got bumped here with no explanation or compensation. Blowing Rock and it's amenities just cannot handle the peak tourist influx that it gets several times a year and around the holidays. The restaurants and bars were running out of food, beer and wine. The smart alec college students that work in these places could use some training in hospitality. I am done with the Inns of Blowing Rock and hopefully with BR itself. Too many yankees and other tourists for this NC boy. There are other less crowded places to go and spend my money in the High Country of NC.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnsManager, General Manager at Village Inn of Blowing Rock, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
We are so very sorry to hear that this guest was not able to enjoy their time in Blowing Rock. It really is a beautiful and relaxing place. Our breakfast selection does include several items that are very high in protein such as eggs and sausage and many other items which our guests usually appreciate very much. There are no other establishments where you will receive such generous amenities for such an affordable price. It is unfortunate that this guests stay with us was so negatively impacted by their opinion of our town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Inn of Blowing Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn of Blowing Rock

Address: 7876 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Inn of Blowing Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Village Inn of Blowing Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn Of Blowing Rock Hotel Blowing Rock
Village Hotel Blowing Rock
Village Blowing Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Inn of Blowing Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.