We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a lovely find! Cabin feeling recently remodeled rooms.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Inn of Blowing Rock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Village Inn of Blowing Rock to your Saves list
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7876 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Washington, DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“what a lovely find! Cabin feeling recently remodeled rooms.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

A pond with a fountain is in front of the hotel and a stream runs out back. Each room has a sliding glass door out to the deck with chairs and table to enjoy listening to the stream. (Depending on the room and time of day you may hear the roar of traffic instead.) The rooms are recently remodeled and have everything a guest can want - fridge, microwave, flat screen tv (cable but no HBO), big fluffly bath towels, and free wi-fi.The rooms are decorated with a cabin theme.

Breakfsat is included with cereal, fruit, breads, etc. Happy hour from 5-6 includes wine and cheese and plenty of cookies. Friendly service too.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnsManager, General Manager at Village Inn of Blowing Rock, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
This guest captured the essence of the property and the rooms of The Village Inn. We have recently enhanced our continental breakfast selection to include several hot items. We are also pleased to be able to offer our wine reception once again. Although there is the sound of an occasional passing vehicle on the highway, the property is situated far enough away from the road and the pond with two fountains is positioned in between the road and the rooms, so that road noise is hardly ever even noticed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    71
    30
    18
    15
See reviews for
22
135
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

Where do I begin? This was the worst experience my wife and I have ever had at a hotel. When we arrived we walked into what appeared to be a "clean" room. Much to our disgust when we walked into the bathroom we found hair and a dirty towel on the floor, even worse we found hair and makeup stains on our sheets and pillow cases! We called the desk attendant who was rather rude and were told "housekeeping has already left for the day". We decided against our better judgement to turn the sheets inside out and sleep on the other side, disgusting right? Well, not being able to get comfortable because of the uneasy situation was bad enough but the springs in the bed LITERALLY were coming through the mattress. Unconditionally THE WORST night we have ever tried to sleep. The a/c is noisy and had mold growing in the vents, the coffee maker in the room didn't work, the "scenic" back deck, a joke. We were looking straight into another building, nothing scenic about that. The next morning when we went to have our complimentary breakfast, the morning clerk was late arriving and when we did get in the door we found a variety of COLD starchy items, there was no coffee out and we honestly had experienced ENOUGH! We went up the road to a nice little restaurant to have our breakfast. When we did checkout I expressed my desire to talk to a manager but there wasn't a manager on duty apparently. I left my name and number with the clerk and was assured that someone would contact us. It's been almost 2 weeks now and we haven't received so much as a phone call. Pretty poor service for a very poor motel. Will not be going back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnsManager, Manager at Village Inn of Blowing Rock, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock appreciate all feedback from our guests, and take immediate action to remedy unfortunate circumstances that prevented each of our guests from having an absolutely wonderful stay with us. We strive to provide the highest level of customer service and cleanliness and are so discouraged to find that our guests did not enjoy their stay. We would like to ensure this guest, as well as all of our guests, that this is not a normal experience for our property, and reassure them that this will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clayton indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

My husband and I recently traveled the Blue Ridge Parkway, stopping along the way when we were ready to relax for the night. We happend across this little gem very close to the Parkway and did not want to leave. The young man at the counter welcomed us with a friendly smile and the lobby was tremendous. A huge stonefireplace with a log mantle was straight in front of you and above that was a large flat screen tv. There was plenty of comfy seating and a nice place to work on your computer. The coffee pot was ready and waiting. The room held another surprise. Though it was a little small held everything needed for a relaxing evening. (Or more if we could have stayed longer.) 30 inch flat screen on the wall across from the king size bed, a large desk with plenty of light and free wifi. There was even a coffee pot, microwave and small refridgerator. A patio door led out to a courtyard with flowering trees and a small stream. The bathroom was beautiful with stone floors and thick marble shower and countertop. It provided the best shower the entire trip. There were plenty of mirrors to see to fix your hair. The bathroom was a little cool this time of year but there was a heater in the ceiling that very quickly warmed it up. There was a beautiful little pond in front with fountains and bridge to a little island where you could sit and relax and enjoy. All of this for just over $70 taxes included. There were several restaurants close by and a little breakfast served in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnsManager, Manager at Village Inn of Blowing Rock, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
We so enjoy hearing comments from our guests, and appreciate all feedback! It is so encouraging to find that our inn is enjoyed for the purpose it was meant for; a relaxing vacation spot. We also love hearing that our staff are appreciated as well, given that it is crucial for us to provide the highest level of customer service. We have also expanded our offering to include a free hot breakfast each morning, and a complimentary wine tasting each afternoon, to continue toward our goal of providing the best possible lodging experience. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tazewell, VA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

Wow is the first word that comes to mind about this motel. We only stayed one night as we came for the opening of the Tweetsie Railroad, but the room made us want to stay longer. The quality is first rate and the price was wonderful! I was amazed to see quality linens, slate tile, real hardwood flooring, granite in the bathrooms, etc for only $70.00 per night! We will definitely be staying here again this summer when we return to the area. Thank you Village Inn for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

My husband booked a weekend stay at the Village Inn in Blowing Rock, NC as a surprise for my birthday. It is a beautifully decorated Inn with a very friendly staff and good prices. My only complaints / dislikes regarding the Summerville Cotttage Room that we stayed in would have to be the thinness of the walls and the very hard bed mattress. We could hear our neighbors talking and walking around thru the thin walls as well as we could hear their TV playing. Luckily we had good neighbors that were not to rowdy or loud so the "extra" noise was bearable. My husband loves a firm bed mattress but even that mattress was too firm / hard for his taste. Other than those 2 things, we really had a good time and would consider going back to stay in a different room next time.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnsManager, Manager at Village Inn of Blowing Rock, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
We appreciate all feedback from our guests and are so thrilled to find that our guests appreciate the great attention to detail that was applied when these properties were recently renovated! We do value comments such as these, which help us reach our goal of providing the best experience possible for our guests, and we apologize for the inconvenience that was encountered. Our bedding is top of the line, Kingsdown, and unfortunately does not meet every one's taste. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

When we enter the room, it took our breath away, it was so clean, nice and very comfortable..Very roomy, and hey there was 4 women. Everyone was so nice...we had snacks at 5:30 of the evening and that was a nice thing to do for the guest.....Outside everything was clean and so pretty, we took pictures and the deck was a plus. Just sat back and look at the beauiful view..... We also like that we was in walking disatance to a store and a few places to eat. Oh the great coffee and breakfast....already making plans to go back, its a great getaway.......

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnsManager, General Manager at Village Inn of Blowing Rock, responded to this review, April 26, 2010
We love hearing from our guests! We appreciate all feedback and are so thrilled to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay! All of our rooms are very beautiful and it is encouraging to us to find that the time and effort dedicated to each and every detail is appreciated to the fullest degree! We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate, SC
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

My husband and I visited the Village Inn of Blowing Rock for a mini-getaway. We stayed in the Summerville Cottage. The room was exactly as pictured on their website. Spacious, up-to-date, and extremely clean.
We did wish the room had a balcony facing the stream and were glad we brought a small fan to block out street noise at night.
The Village Inn was the perfect hideaway for us to enjoy some down time.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnsManager, General Manager at Village Inn of Blowing Rock, responded to this review, April 26, 2010
We love hearing that our guests enjoy their stay with us! It is so wonderful to find that the rooms are enjoyed for the purpose that they were meant, as a restful getaway from life's pressures. Blowing Rock itself has a refreshing, laid back pace-of-life and all of the Village Inns are located right in downtown! Unfortunately, with this convenience comes the sound of an occasional passing vehicle. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Inn of Blowing Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn of Blowing Rock

Address: 7876 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Inn of Blowing Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Village Inn of Blowing Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn Of Blowing Rock Hotel Blowing Rock
Village Hotel Blowing Rock
Village Blowing Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Inn of Blowing Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.