We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldey but Goodey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Village Inn of Blowing Rock

Save Saved
You added Village Inn of Blowing Rock to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7876 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 hotels in Blowing Rock
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Oldey but Goodey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Part of this Inn is really terrific with ugrades but half is not and still belongs to the Dark Ages, meaning the room was built in the 1940's and looks it and smells of body ordor. The owners which are charging a heavy rate (100) dollars or more will stick you in the old rooms or new for the same rate. They offer a nice free breakfast and the atmosphere is friendly. Make sure to ask for Christy to handle you as she is great, the evening hostess is less cooperative and lacks a good business relationship skill. All suites are excellent and rooms 101 to 105 are just fine. Anything else, pass on it and go somewhere else. Ive stayed there five times so I have the experience first hand.

Room Tip: Ask for Christy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnsManager, General Manager at Village Inn of Blowing Rock, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are glad to hear of the positive experiences this guest has had with us over the past five visits! I did want to clarify that although our property was the first hotel to be built in downtown Blowing Rock, in the 1920s so it is a historic property. However, we have spent the past several years upgrading each, and every room, and we are now all 21 of our deluxe guest rooms, suites and cottages have been completely restored. Upgrades include hardwood floors, T&G ceiling, bathroom refinishing, new mattresses, luxurious Peacock Alley triple sheeting, and much more! We have also greatly enhanced our breakfast offering. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    63
    30
    17
    10
See reviews for
20
123
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Rooms are huge and comfortable making you feel as if you are in a mountain lodge. Staff is very friendly and helpful and accommodating of our very large dog. We stay either there or their sister hotel, Hillwinds Inn, every time we visit our son, who is a student at Appalachian in Boone. The restaurant that it is next to, Twigs, has some wonderful food, typical of the Southern Bistro that is so popular in Blowing Rock.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

As previous reviewers have noted, this inn seems to be an renovated and upscaled version of the classic one level drive up motels. As our trip to Blowing Rock was last minute and we ended up in a pretty uncomfortable hotel the previous night, we would have been pretty excited about anything that didn't have a crackling plastic coated mattress. This was one of the few hotels available that day that was near the center of town in Blowing Rock, affordable (I think under 150 for a Sunday night) so I booked it immediately.
As another reviewer noted, we also weren't able to check in until exactly 3 PM. Even at 3 we still had to wait for towels to be delivered to our room, so they must be on a pretty tight housekeeping schedule.
The lobby/lounge area of the hotel is large and gorgeous, decorated in an elegant hunting lodge style. We did not partake in any of the evening or breakfast offerings, except for a cup of coffee on our way out. As a self proclaimed coffee snob I expected to be disappointed with it, but even though it wasn't the high octane rocket fuel I'm used to, i was pleasantly surprised. I noticed another reviewer saying they weren't satisfied with the wine reception or breakfast, but as we didn't check it out I can't comment.
The room itself, although not large, was very beautiful and thought out well. Nice TV, had microwave, fridge, small sitting area, and really nice comfortable bed. The bathroom was very nicely renovated with granite bath, stone tiles, updated fixtures, etc. There was also a back deck with sitting area, that backed up to a residential looking area and a stream to one side.
There was also a large pond in the front of the property but while we were there, it was surrounded with orange cones and taped off so I'm not really sure what that was about. The weather was quite awful the weekend we went though (rainy, foggy and cold) so we weren't really able to take part in many outdoor activities.
For our purposes this was a great place to stay. As non exciting as it seems, we basically just wanted a place to chill out and watch tv and eat and drink wine, and this fit the bill perfectly and was extremely cute and a great price. I really appreciate hotels that go above and beyond the basics to create a relaxing environment with nice decor and the Village Inn definitely did that. Very pleased with the whole experience and would not hesitate to stay again.

Oh I believe our room number was 115, it's been a few weeks but I'm pretty sure that was it.

Room Tip: I think we were in room 115 which is to the left of the lobby if you are looking at the hotel from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed overnight at Village Inn which has been recently renovated. Looks like it used to be a motel but it's more upscale than that now. It's one of three sister properties in upscale Blowing Rock. Others are Hillwinds Inn and Ridgeway Inn. Village Inn is a very comfortable and well-appointed property. The lobby/check-in/breakfast area is very nice and very welcoming. Staff was friendly and helpful. Village Inn is within walking distance of shops and dining. Rooms are small but clean, very comfortable and nicely decorated. Our room was done up like a cabin. Very cozy. Large, comfortable bed. Each room has its own balcony/patio just above ground level. There was a small creek nearby. Complimentary continental breakfast. Only downside was construction on the main road out front. Long lines of traffic but manageable. Found the nightly rate to be about right for prime leaf watching season. Would highly recommend Village Inn and plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkin, North Carolina
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We went away for an evening and made the mistake of going to Blowing Rock during their fall art show. It was super crowded and traffic was fierce. This "Inn" is really a motel with a covered walkway and lodge room with tv and sitting area. We had to wait until 3:00 on the dot to check in- find it hard to believe that it takes all day to clean 24 rooms. Our room was a little small with wanna-be hunting estate decor. The bed was really soft and the head seemed to be lower which was uncomfortable. Our room was 101 which was a handicapped room and had no outside porch. (Not sure if each room had a porch or not.) The shower was huge which is correct for a wheelchair, but other features left something to be desired for non-handicapped. The shower head would not stay up and made it hard for my 6'4" husband to shower. The clear shower curtain did not cover the opening and looked like it was from the dollar store- along with the cheesy metal clips holding it up. The towels have definitely seen better days which I can understand, but please don't continue to use ones that are unraveling on the edges and should be converted into rags.

There was supposed to be a wine and snacks evening offering according to the info sheet given to me by the inn clerk that did not happen. The breakfast was pretty lame and something I would have expected at a Super 8. Even the coffee was weak like it was watered down.

I wanted to write something nice about this place but it was really hard when we paid over $220 for a room worth at most $100. We thought that it would be much nicer based on the photos, but the photos of the property make it look much more upscale than it is. It was pretty clean- but I expect that. We really felt ripped off.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We decided to go "leaf peeping" in the North Carolina mountains during peak season. Wow has Blowing Rock gotten busy during this time of year. We have been up there before but this time it was packed with people. Needless to say we made a reservation way in advance. The staff at the Village Inn was very nice. However the room was a bit of a disappointment. it was small and uncomfortable. The bed was huge and took up most of the room with a small walk through space to the bathroom. Breakfast....if you could call it that. Mostly packaged items...cinnamon roll, toast, bagel....they did have a sausage egg cheese on top of half a bagel but...it was not so good. The coffee....staple of the breakfast table was weak...I didn't know if I was pouring tea or coffee. Previous reviewers said it was noisy.....it was not at all....you are right on a main thoroughfare but once the door closed....quiet. The back porch was a plus in nice weather and although we don't have a dog...I saw a few staying with their guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Twp., Mi.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a cozy facility with a couple of surprises. #1 is Ellis. She is very guest orientated. Helpful with suggestions and directions as well as a talented "bad Joke" teller. I found these very funny. The second surprise is the room itself. Cozy yet decorated upscale. Especially the tiles elected for the bathrooms. Loved the hair/body dryer in the light fixture. The bed was very comfortable. Property is located close to the road so there is some road noise but then, most places in Blowing Rock have road noise. By mindful of the construction to widen 321.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Inn of Blowing Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn of Blowing Rock

Address: 7876 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Inn of Blowing Rock 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Village Inn of Blowing Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn Of Blowing Rock Hotel Blowing Rock
Village Hotel Blowing Rock
Village Blowing Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Inn of Blowing Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.