We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Barbecue and Pickin Parlor

Woodlands Barbecue and Pickin Parlor
8304 Valley Blvd (HWY 321 Bypass), Blowing Rock, NC 28605
828.295.3651
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 40 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This was close to the motel and had a live musician. That's how we picked it. Food was marginal, though there were a lot of locals coming in for take out, so Someone liked it. Prices were low. Little kids were dancing in the aisles. If you want something with a local flavor and don't care so much about the food this is the place for you.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    89
    38
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

A good friend of mine raved about this place to me so I decided to pay him a visit and let him take me there. He did not stear me wrong when he described this food. The brisket and pork were tender, flavorful with enough smokiness to just give it ths added taste it needed. The babyback ribs were unbelievable!!!! There not much more I can say about them except that they are a must have. This place has it going on when it comes to barbecue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Long weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Had a great lunch. I had beef brisket and my husband had the lunch special catfish sandwich. We go there on a lot of our visits. Lot of locals eat there so that says a lot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Visit here each year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have been traveling here for several years and make a point of stopping in for some 'que. Fine atmosphere, family friendly, inexpensive beers, large portions are what to expect. I had 3 children, wife, and mother-in-law with me - we ate a large combo platter and everyone left full.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Will be back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This place was highly recommended by several friends so we decided to try it out during our visit to blowing rock. Had a very downhome and casual atmosphere. Our party had everything from bbq, chicken to a burger. The food was delicious! They give nice size portions. You get a lot of food for a very fair price. We visit this town a few times a year and will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodlands Barbecue and Pickin Parlor also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Woodlands Barbecue and Pickin Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Barbecue and Pickin Parlor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.