We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Breakfast !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Public House

The New Public House
239 Sunset Drive, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
+1 828-295-3487
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The New Public House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 40 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hill St.
Description: Big Flavors - Casual Dining. The New Public House restaurant offers reasonably priced, delicious favorites in a relaxed, comfortable, and exciting environment. The New food concept was created by-renowned chef Michael Foreman. He supports local purveyors, regional flavors and offers a "NC farm to table" experience. The restaurant's bar is available for meeting friends and enjoying a drink or a meal in more casual setting. Offerings include our small plates specialties, as well as local NC beers; great wines by the glass and exotic, specialty cocktails by our own mixologist
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Breakfast !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Best Grits you will ever eat- so creamy and flavorful . Great value for the quality of food. I will try this place for dinner next time we are in the BR area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    37
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Deeeelish!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Ate at the new public house last night with some friends. Had not eaten here since it was Crippens. Decor is fabulous. Very restoration hardware.
Food and service was outstanding. Everyone loved their meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great addition to the Blowing Rock restaurant scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

There are lots of nice restaurants in Blowing Rock, but we decided to give this one a try for a change and were pleased we did

We had booked a table in the dining room, but decided to eat at the front of the property as our table wasn't ready when we arrived, and the dining room seemed extremely noisy. Décor throughout was well done and appealing.

Both our meals were delicious and good value for money - my cocktail not so much - very pricey for what it was, but overall I think it will be our first choice to dine next time we're in Blowing Rock.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Addition to BR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is just a cool restaurant and and Inn. The food for dinner was excellent. I had a entree with wild caught Coho salmon. Its also a nice place to sit and have a glass of wine in the bar area or on the front porch.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have enjoyed dinner at The New Public House on several occasions but this was the first time we had breakfast there. I tried their sweet potato omelette and it was absolutely delicious! If you are in Blowing Rock, be sure to go by for breakfast.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Public House also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The New Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.