We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome New Arrival” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blowing Rock Ale House & Inn

Blowing Rock Ale House & Inn
152 Sunset Drive, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
+1 828-414-9600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 40 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Blowing Rock Brewing Company is committed to providing you with handcrafted, mountain artisan beer. All of our beers are brewed using fresh, local ingredients. "Go To The Mountains" can be found on our cans for a reason, and its not just because we want you to visit. Everything about our brews captures the finest qualities of the High Country, all the way from our ingredients to our team that sells, samples and serves them. Our Legacy series offers you our flagship brews. These have been with us since the very beginning. Our Ale House Series consists of our ever-changing, artisan brews which we craft by experimenting with local ingredients and mountain resources.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Welcome New Arrival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Ihave now eaten lunch twice at Blowing Rock Ale House and both times had a very good experience. Excellent sandwiches, fresh salads and really good beer. I particularly liked the descriptions of th different beers, which included alcohol content-very helpful on the way to the golf course.
Service was pleasant, prompt and informed, and we were able to park in their lot even though the restaurant was nearly full. Look forward to going back for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    51
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great new addition to Blowing Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

BR has needed a place like this for a long time and this has been done well. Beer is great, I tend to like the darks and sampled a couple that fit the bill. Food was good, interesting choices. Service was very good. Busy but not overwhelmed, a little loud but not uncomfortably. All in all a very good choice for a "Pub".
Very good now and I'd wager will be even better after a couple of months up and running. I highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corolla, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“...where everyone knows your name”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Walk into the pub at the BR Ale house and there's an instant comfy, cozy feel to the place. We arrived after seven and this new spot in the village was fairly empty. By the time we left, it was packed. Our waiter was helpful and friendly. Satisfaction on the food in our group surveyed at a little above 50/50. Loved the crabcake - no fillers and very yummy. Then teamed with the grilled casaer salad - perfect combo! (OMG was that salad good!) Tiny fish tacos ordered by a friend were a surprise. Wish we'd been warned. I called them "silver dollar" tacos. The tortillas are the size of silver dollar pancakes. She reported that they were good, but, needed to pair them up with another appetizer to be fulfilled. My husband chicken sandwich was fine. Although the onion rings were spectacular! BR summer ale was smooth and satisfying, served with a orange slice on the rim. Glad to have the Ale House! We will return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outside or Inside, Date Night or Family Night Out...a great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

While window shopping in the nearby shops, my family and I came across this place for dinner. The people on the front lawn in Adirondack chairs and a front porch bar were picturesque. We went right in and were pleasantly greeted. The restaurant was busy, but it was a Saturday night so we expected to wait. We were seated at a hightop table in a few minutes and were pleasantly surprised by the menu. Much better than pub food! Our kids skipped the kids menu for the large homemade pretzels ($6). They loved them! My husband had the bison burger- nothing left on his plate ($10). I had the BLT- Wow!! It was awesome. I almost forgot the beer! We tried a "flight" of 5 different ones before settling on the summer ale. Great dinner. Great decor. There was a mixture of families, couples on date night- all enjoying food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place, they made accommodations for our 4 kids, food and beer was great, and ask for DUANE if you have kids!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great place, they made accommodations for our 4 kids, food and beer was great, bathrooms were super clean without a doubt ask for DUANE if you have kids!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blowing Rock Ale House & Inn also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Blowing Rock Ale House & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blowing Rock Ale House & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.