We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good dinner in a fantastic setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge

The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge
202 Gideon Ridge Road, Blowing Rock, NC
+1 828-295-3644
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Located on top of Gideon Ridge, guests enjoy dining Al Fresco or in our intimate dining room. The cuisine is an eclectic blend of the freshest mountain ingredients, prepared in the classical style. Dinner served Tuesday - Saturday by reservation.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very good dinner in a fantastic setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

had the filet plate and chocolate pie for dessert and it was fantastic. Possibly the best I've had. My wife had the lamb and didn't feel it was up to the same standard. Service was fantastic. All the staff were helpful and friendly and the setting is hard to beat. Breakfasts were very good also. We'll return

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    5
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great meal, local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The chef trained in France for a number of years. He also owns a nearby farm and supplies some of the ingredients. The menu was diverse and food beautifully prepared and presented. Perhaps the most telling endorsements came from our French friends who proclaimed the meal "superb!" especially the beef..
Don't miss the deserts.
Beautiful views from the Inn's dining room.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gourmet Farm Fresh Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The inn offers a full breakfast every morning, with a choice of at least three entrees. Yummy. We had dinner in the restaurant and I never had better sushi grade Tuna as my main dish, prepared to perfection.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Creative chef, Magnificent view, High end service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I like the idea behind the restaurant's menu: small, changing every week. Chef told us a story behind each dish. We felt like judges at Iron Chef :-)
Most of dishes have local ingredients and they have some local character in the taste: there was no traditional Italian or French dishes. Everything had a touch of American country stile cuisine. Some may see it as a down side, but we loved it. Make no mistake - it's still fine dining, so don't expect country stile portions. ;-)
Keep in ming that if you stay at the Inn - you can bring your favorite wine, no cork fee charged! And if you don't - don't worry: they have very good wine list. Although all wines are American - we managed to find a nice blend that tasted similar to some wines from Tuscany,

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, TN
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Love the food at Gideon Ridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

When we stay at Gideon Ridge, we always eat there as well. It is so private/intimate...great for couples (anniversary, etc.). The food is always amazing (and I don't give a lot of 5-star reviews for food....it has to be amazing to get 5 from me). We ate here last weekend...and again, the service was nice...great advice on the wine...food was perfect....and it was a great evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.