We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Sleep at Meadowbrook.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowbrook Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Meadowbrook Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 Main Street, P.O. Box 2005, Blowing Rock, NC 28605   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Hickory, NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No Sleep at Meadowbrook.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

I stayed there one night during April and was very disipointed at how they let a party go on downsairs until 2am with loud music and drunks everywhere. I was with my wife and 10 month old baby and we didn't sleep but 4 hours that night. When I called the front desk they had an additude and was rude.What a vacation! I love going to Blowing Rock but will never stay at Meadowbrook again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of sleep and rude staff
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    52
    23
    15
    15
See reviews for
54
54
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2007

My wife and I made a last minute decision to spend Memorial Day weekend in Blowing Rock. We found the Medowbrook Inn through a local recommendation. After seeing the room we decided to stay an extra night. We upgraded to a suite for the second night. The staff moved all our luggage for us while we were out enjoying ourselves. The suite was exceptional. It was much larger than we expected. Everything about it was great. The four poster King bed was new and comfortable. Everything was exceptionally clean. The grounds were imaculate. Even the geese posed for our pictures. The front desk was helpful in suggesting local places to go and things to do. They booked a round of golf at Boone Country Club, only 5 minutes away. It was a beautiful course with an abundance of blooming shrubs and mountain backgrounds, yet reasonably priced. Overall, a very enjoyable trip. We will be back again.

  • Liked — Spacious suite, quality furnishings
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

I am the staff person at a large Charlotte church and just returned with 70 women after our annual retreat. We chose the Meadowbrook Inn after a scouting visit and spending time with their staff a year ago.
My job is to handle all the paperwork and logitics prior to the actual retreat. This was handled very well in spite of a change in management. Everything we had arranged was implemented exactly as we had hoped. Having an event manager on site was most helpful (Molly & Erin). The front desk was helpful and courteous (Mandy).

We had a plated dinner Saturday evening. The Four Seasons Ballroom was set up beautifully. The food (salmon, beef and chicken) was very good and served in a timely and professional manner.

Our ladies enjoyed the close proximity to shopping, restaurants, hiking during free time. In all the evaluations, the service at the Inn was rated excellent for all the reasons I stated above and more (Complimentary breakfst, the Mitford Suite hospitality room, comfortable rooms).

We have gone to Myrtle Beach, Black Mountain, Isle of Plams and Winston-Salem in the past and the women enjoyed these facilities the most of all those places. The contract for next year is on my desk waiting to be faxed back tomorrow.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2007

A few girlfriends and I decided to go on a weekend getaway to Blowing Rock, enjoy some shopping and dining. We stayed at the Meadowbrook Inn and upon our arrival it seemed to be a nice place. Little did we know what we were getting into!

We had reserved a room with two queen beds. When we got there we were informed they did not have a room with two queen sized beds. The term *reservation* means they are supposed to hold the room for us, but clearly they had not (Seinfeld reference, anyone?) We were given a room with one queen sized bed and a sleeper sofa that had a mattress that *might* have been one inch thick. Our backs were aching from sleeping on that contraption.

As another reviewer noted, the walls were paper thin and we had, unfortunately, arrived the weekend that a huge wedding party was staying there. We had been stuck in a room that was on the party floor. Party-goers had no embarrassment about coming in after midnight, yelling, singing and laughing at the top of their lungs!

We contacted the front desk and were told by the clerk that earplugs were available at the desk if we needed them. So we pick up some to have on hand for the next night. That night the party-goers rolled in after 2am, partying harder than ever. Not even the earplugs could keep the noise out. One of my friends called the front desk and was told, "Oh, that's just the wedding party. They'll calm down in a little bit."

Clearly, the wedding party's money was considered worth more than ours, as the management seemed entirely comfortable with letting them have the run of the place.

The next morning we checked out and asked to speak with management. We were informed that there was no manager on duty but the clerk was prepared to offer us 25% off the price of our stay. This was not sufficient and we told her so. Eventually she refunded us half the cost of our stay.

We will **never** go back to Meadowbrook Inn and cannot, in good conscience, recommend them to anyone else. Save yourself the hassle and book some other hotel in Blowing Rock. You'll have a much better night's sleep!

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

We were very thankful for a great, comfortable place to stay. The suite was very reasonably priced , spacious,and well stocked with essential supplies. It had furniture that made you feel "at home". The cherry desk, dresser, entertainment center and four-poster bed were beautiful, and the wing-baked chairs and couch were very comfortable. Having a separate dressing area was also was nice when sharing the bathroom with other family members. It was cool on the days we were there, so the gas fireplace right in the room was just right.

The continental breakfast was very delicious, had a vast variety of food and was well stocked. Also, having the entire ballroom with lots of space for guests to get food was comfortable.

The town of Blowing Rock was just a very few steps away. We took afternoon walks and enjoyed the shops, park, and historical buildings around town. It was a quiet place that just seemed to say, "Relax".

We also liked the convenience of getting tickets to the local attractions for a reduced price, and receiving advice from the staff about them and other things to do around the area. In the evening, having the patio downstairs was very nice. I am sure that a family would enjoy all the board games and books that were available for use by guests.

Our family is planning to return at later date to this great retreat!

  • Liked — Quiet, Relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — Having to leave it
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2007

Although we had planned to spend only one evening at the Meadowbrook Inn, after relaxing in our beautifully decorated room, we immediately opted for a second day. We couldn’t have been more pleased with our surroundings nestled within the quiet and quaint little town of Blowing Rock. Our room with an adjoining sitting area and patio was very roomy. We appreciated having glassware instead of plastic ware available for our use. We enjoyed sipping on a glass of wine as we sat on our patio overlooking a duck pond and unwinding for the day. The bathroom and dressing room were equally luxurious. An ample amount of plush beige towels decoratively folded adorned the bath area. The porcelain mugs for our morning cup of coffee were equally appreciated.

Meadowbrook’s continental breakfast was a step above the ordinary. Serving hot biscuits and gravy along with fresh fruit and danishes were just a few of our breakfast choices.

The staff at the inn was extremely friendly and helpful. April’s recommendations for lunch and dinner in charming Blowing Rock were on the mark and equally as inviting as the inn. We can’t wait to schedule a return trip to this delightful inn and town.

  • Liked — Conveniently located within a very short walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Beautiful room and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — That we didn't have more time to spend at Medowbrook Inn and exploring Blowing Rock.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

We spent the weekend after Valentines Day at the Meadowbrook Inn. We booked a Deluxe King room and was very happy. It was a large room with a king bed, sofa bed, coffee table, fireplace, whirlpool tub, and even a sunroom. The balcony was enclosed with glass even on the roof. It was very nice. The room was clean and roomy and also had a fridge and microwave. We were in the annex building that is not attached to the main. It was fine except for the kids wanting to swim in the indoor pool. If you go in winter and plan on swimming you might want to request a room in the same building. They were pretty cold with wet hair and it was snowing outside! LOL Other than that it was great. They have a very nice comp breakfast. No problems here and probally will return.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meadowbrook Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowbrook Inn & Suites

Address: 711 Main Street, P.O. Box 2005, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meadowbrook Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowbrook Inn is located within walking distance of the heart of downtown Blowing Rock, NC, which is the "Southeast's prettiest town", according to Southern Living magazine. Enjoy the short walk to downtown restaurants, shops, boutiques, festivals, and parades.Blowing Rock's 3,600 feet elevation means great summer weather and plenty of wintertime activities. The town is a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Moses Cone Manor, Grandfather Mountain, Appalachian Ski Mountain, Appalachian State University, and to the neighboring town of Boone.Our facilities and the surrounding area make the Meadowbrook Inn the perfect location for family weekends, social gatherings, events, weddings, conferences, and romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Meadowbrook Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowbrook Hotel Blowing Rock
Meadowbrook Blowing Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowbrook Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.