We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Venue for a Wedding Reception” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Park Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Green Park Inn to your Saves list
The Green Park Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9239 Valley Boulevard, (Rte. 321), Blowing Rock, NC 28605   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Morrisville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quaint Venue for a Wedding Reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My daughter-in-law and son held their wedding reception at the GPI. This was also the "official hotel" for the wedding party and guests.

The hotel was originally a boarding house and built in the 1890's. It has a good balance of old charm and modern conveniences, with an attentive staff and an extraordinary chef. It is uniquely situated, straddling the Eastern Continental Divide.

My suite was spacious, with a bedroom, sitting room, and bathroom. The other rooms that I saw, which were not suites, were also spacious and well designed. My room was extremely clean, and the housekeepers were very accomodating of my hectic schedule, servicing my room outside their normal cleaning times.

The hotel has many open areas where the families congregated and visited. It was a benefit to have everyone together to become better acquainted in a relaxed, home-like setting.

In addition to the public sitting areas, there is a room where some of the antique artifacts that were replaced during the recent remodeling are displayed, as well as old photos of the property.

The award winning chef at the GPI - James Welch - is one of the finest chefs in the area. The breakfast, which is included in the room fee, was made to order using high quality ingredients, and the portions were generous. I have dined in The Chestnut Grille on another occasion, and highly recommend the restaurant! The menu selection for the wedding reception dinner was unique, and had an international flair. The food was well prepared, which can be a difficult feat when serving ~175 guests.

The dining room was recently remodeled, yet retained its charm. A section of the restaurant has a wood floor, which is great for dancing. There is a patio off the dining room that provides additional space for guests, and can be romantically decorated for an evening event.

I rated the location as a 4, because the hotel is close to the road, which is convenient, but can be challenging to exit when there is a lot of traffic, which is common given there is road construction in the area. Having said that, I had a room on the front of the hotel, and did not hear any of the road traffic.

I had such a wonderful time, that I plan to return in the fall.

Room Tip: I found the rooms with double queen-size beds to be an excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks so much for your very flattering and thorough review. Weddings are very special events and we're always very pleased to host them, and to provide a warm and welcoming environment for good friends and families to come together. Yes, our Chef is amazing, and we're so happy that you enjoyed your dining experience as well. Thanks especially for noting the charm of our historic property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    62
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
40
119
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our room was excellent, with a nice sitting area and 2 TVs. The main dining room was closed but we had a very good evening meal at their Divide Tavern.
The breakfast was excellent. The hotel atmosphere hints of the luxuries of yesteryear. Very comfortable and interesting place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Historic hotels aren't for everyone (even though people sometimes think that it would be "neat", but in reality are more comfortable in cement and cinder block chains) so it's always nice to hear from guests who really appreciate the unique charm and character of properties as historic as ours (122 years old and counting!). Thanks so much for posting and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Has a lot of history but outdated. Rooms need tp be updated plus the bathrooms. There is nothing special about the rooms plus looks dirty inside.Lobby everything looks dead no excitement, the feeling is like you are a zombie. Hopefully they can get upgraded to when you go you feel alive in this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
This review gives the reader an opportunity to understand the dangers posed to businesses and unsuspecting readers from anonymous paid writers of bogus reviews Clearly this writer has not visited our hotel. Our lobby is filled with brand new (American made) furniture, and fresh flowers, and live plants abound. We have a grand piano in the lobby which is attended by a professional pianist each Friday and Saturday. This writer has been reviewing on this review site since 2012. Does the number of cities and reviews strike anyone as inordinate and extraordinary in just one year, particularly from someone so inarticulate? Gosh, we just hate that the review system can be so easily manipulated. Dirty? Huh? Even those who have taken exception to a rude staff member or a late breakfast have never, ever reviewed that we were dirty. There's a zombie here, but it sure isn't our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stay at many historical inns in my travels. First of all I must say the people who own these types of properties always have their plates full and it usually is a labor of love. The owners are working hard to update and preseve this fine inn but always remember they are not perfect

, The area that could use some improvement is some training of the staff so that they would engage more with the guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for recognizing our efforts in restoring this grande undertaking! You make an excellent point that the hotel will not be perfect, and will be an ever-improving endeavor. We continue to update and make changes, and guest feedback is the best way we can know where to begin! As each guest will have their own personal preferences, it will always be a challenge to find that delicate balance between too much staff interaction and not enough. Thank you for letting us know what could make your stay better! We'd love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights here, and were disappointed that the management is unable to solve their staff problems. Breakfast hours seem to run for the convience of the staff, instead of the customers.We were given a refund because of the poor service, but I would rather have had a good breakfast. This was off season and I can't imagine what it will be like if things get busy.

We have stayed in several historic properties over the years and are willing to overlook peeling paint, creaking floors, etc., since most properties make up for this by offering good service and ambiance. Without this, the property just becomes another old building, with cheap rooms.
Positives: Cleanliness was okay, A/C and plumbing worked fine, and maid service was good.A property begging for better management.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
This review is simply patently unfair. I invite those of you reading this review to read on, on to the many, many, many compliments that we receive on our breakfast. Yes, this guest stayed 3 nights and, unfortunately, during ONLY ONE breakfast did our morning cook have a problem arriving on schedule (the first time that this has happened in our 2 1/2 years of operation). To suggest that this was or is a constant issue is just inaccurate, and clearly intended to mislead readers.

Finally, I am the General Manager of the Green Park and not only did I authorize a credit to each and every guest on that day (regardless of whether their breakfast was delayed) but, the following morning (on which morning this guest was still staying with us) I personally came in for the breakfast service to ensure that there would be no difficulties. Had this guest had any lingering issues due to the unfortunate circumstance of the prior morning then he had every opportunity to have spoken to me that morning, as I was clearly a manager. In addition, each guest that had checked out that morning was personally contacted by myself, and all of our stay over guests, of which this gentleman was one, received a personal note from our front desk manager, again, apologizing, and informing them that we had processed a courtesy credit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanibel
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our one night stay. The inn was clean and charming.
Our room was quite roomy and the bed comfortable.
Full Breakfast in the dining room was included. The meal was very good and served at our table.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for reviewing and we're happy that you enjoyed yourselves. We also appreciate that you commented on the comfortable bed, since our bedding is all of exceptionally high quality. Lot's of folks don't even realize that. They just know that they had a comfortable night's sleep!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were driving through Blowing Rock, NC and needed a spot for the night. We saw the vacancy sign and stopped in. Great price, tavern with food and restaurant for breakfast. Clean room and large bathroom. While sitting at the bar we met the owner....he was such a gentleman and very proud of this part of the world and the restoration of this inn. The bartenders were great and easy to talk with!

Room Tip: This is the kind of a place you'd want to stay on a road trip! Greeted with friendliness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. We love that you found us while driving by, and that you really enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again on your next road trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Green Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Inn

Address: 9239 Valley Boulevard, (Rte. 321), Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Green Park Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graceful Victorian era hotel listed on the National Register of Historic Places has been lovingly and faithfully restored as of the fall of 2010. Turn back the clock to a more genteel time when exquisite attention to guest's needs, a polite, respectful and helpful staff, and an atmosphere of quiet elegance was the magnet that drew authors, poets, presidents and first ladies to the cool mountain breezes of the Green Park Hotel. Come and experience our affordable elegance. And, when you want to spend time away, spend it someplace that's timeless. The Laurel Room Restaurant open nightly, or weekends seasonally, under the direction of award winning Chef James Welch. The Divide Tavern opens nightly at 5pm, serving casual dinner fare nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Green Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Park Hotel Blowing Rock
Green Park Inn
Park Inn Green

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.