We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the area, but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock to your Saves list
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   North Main Street, Blowing Rock, NC 28605   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Quintana Roo, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Best in the area, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

The hotel rooms and ambiance are 4 out of 5 stars. Comfortable, dated bathrooms...but management and restaurant are dealing with a Red Lion Inn mentality.Restaurant was at best 3 out of 5 stars. Poor prep. Wait-staff attentive, but they are dealing with an average product.
Vouchers for meals, no bellman, phone never worked, "here have a cookie", I'd prefer a hotel that lives up to its Four Seasons prices.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    89
    35
    12
    5
See reviews for
106
117
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

I have stayed here several times over the past 6 years. The condos and hotel are about the same but i would like to comment that the grounds are not. Specifically the lake and ponds are not the same. Not near as many trout in this lake the last few times I have come. Walking around the lake you do not see near as many fish. No bluegill, no minnows hardly at all. Not sure the health of the lake is the same to me. Used to be one of my favorite places to come to for an all around good experience but I am having serious second thoughts about ever coming back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

The hotel is set in the most lovely grounds, which are particularly beautiful in Fall. Blowing Rock is a great place to stay - beauty all aeound, quaint town. The hotel is well equipped with lovely rooms and excellent facilities, including great walks in the extensive grounds. Excellent complimentary breakfast included.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Very friendly staff. Lovely breakfast buffet at a very reasonable price. One of the best features is its proximity to Blowing Rock. You can actually walk into town and to the nearby factory outlet stores.
I thought the rooms in the lodge are a little pricey so we rented a condo. Even those could have been reduced for the off-season but our efforts to negotiate failed!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Traveled to resort to stay for four days of area touring
lodge room was clean ( I hope in the dark)
lighting needed!
Food was good
breakfast buffet great with voucher
elevator small and slow
staff courteous
problems with room keys every morning
workout area equipment noisey and old

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

We stayed at Chetola September 16 & 17 and we really enjoyed our stay. The property is manacured perfectly. Swans swim in the small lake outside the lodge. There are nice walkways around the property and the lake for a perfect romatic stroll or just a photo or two. We stayed in the lodge on the third floor - balcony side and it was worth the extra room charge. It is all about the view at the lodge and it was truly beautiful. The leaves were just turning and in a few week it will be breathtaking. A wonderful breakfast is included and it isn't just the ordinary hotel fare. We had a waitress named Jennifer that truly starts your day with a smile. If you stay ask for her if you can. The pool is soooo !Warm you want to stay in and swim for hours.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Bob Timberlake Inn in the Chetola Lodge for two nights earlier this month and really enjoyed it.

The Inn is located in the top floors of the Manor House Restaurant; the original owners occupied the Manor House years ago. The Inn is the exclusive area at the resort and well worth the money. We stayed in the Luther Snyder room, which was extremely nice and it was decorated in a very pleasing way. We had the only Inn room with an outdoor balcony on the front with a nice view of the lake and grounds.

We enjoyed the room amenities – a large flat-screen TV, a gas fireplace, and a king size bed that was very comfortable. There was free wireless Internet access in the room which was a nice high-speed connection. The bathroom was large with a big whirlpool tub/shower combination that two could easily fit into. There was only one sink in the bathroom.

There were some nice extras, such as having breakfast included in the room price every morning along with an option to have it served privately in the room or to go downstairs to the restaurant; we opted to go downstairs as they had such a nice buffet, which was quite good. Other extras included complimentary wine, fruits, crackers, and cheese in the Inn lounge in the evenings, along with a guest area with a computer. They also had a refrigerator with lots of bottled water and sodas, and they also offered high-end coffees and teas along with freezers full of individual containers of Ben & Jerry’s ice creams, which were yummy.

During the first night of our stay, we ate at the Manor House Restaurant, which we accessed by walking down a flight of stairs from our room without having to go outside. The food was good and the atmosphere very nice with beautiful lake views.

We enjoyed our stay and may go again one day.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock

Address: North Main Street, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chetola Mountain Hotel Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort
Chetola Mountain Blowing Rock
Blowing Chetola Nc Resort Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.