We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love. Love. Love.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock to your Saves list
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   185 Chetola Lake Dr., Blowing Rock, NC 28605   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night Free in Condos
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love. Love. Love.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

After some thorough research, I reserved a weekend stay at the Chetola Resort. The trip was a birthday present for my younger sister, and she loved every bit of it. Our room looked directly in front of the lake on the resort; it was a gorgeous site from the balcony when we settled into our room. There are many trails that branch from the Chetola Resort, so we didn't have to drive to go hike. You could walk to downtown Blowing Rock in 15 minutes or less since it's only a mile down the road from Chetola. I know other reviewers may have commented on the dated decor of the rooms, but my sister and I loved the cozy vibe of the interior. Chetola is a historical site; the stay would not be the same with a sleek and modern interior.. we were in the mountains, of course! Our room was very clean when we checked in. We loved the teddy bear that welcomed us in the room. The balcony view was..well.. AWESOME! The room was complete with a fridge and microwave and a sink next to the appliances if you needed to wash dishes or whatnot. All the staff were very friendly andh helpful. The indoor pool and hot tub looked very nice, but we did not get a chance to use either; we did use the sauna! The also gym looked nicely equipped. You can also rent dvds (located at the pool entrance) if you choose to! Cannot forget to mention the Manor Restaurant :-) The breakfast buffet had a decent amount of choices to choose from; you could always order breakfast through room service as well. The Manor Restaurant is also open for lunch and dinner. My sister and I enjoyed our meal at dinner; the mediterranean platter appetizer was flavorful and delicious! By the way, don't worry about the wedding receptions held on the resort; the celebration is usually over by 11:30p or earlier. Looking forward to our next stay at the resort!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    100
    39
    14
    6
See reviews for
121
131
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

My wife and I booked one night in the Lodge, as a quick Saturday night trip to the mountains. With all of the "resort" around the hotel room, I was expecting something really special. The grounds are awesome, as a few other people have reviewed, you must check in through a gatekeeper, kinda cool. A nice trip around the pond to the main buildings and you have to sort of guess where you are supposed to go. When we went inside to check in, we were greeted by the kid at the front desk who could not have cared less that we were checking in. It was about noon, so we were a bit early for 3pm check in. Room was not ready, but they would call us when it was. They did call, at 4:30. Oh well, we were out wandereding around town, so it really didn't matter. Back to the hotel, get our keys, get to the room. Zzzz.... We had a 3rd floor balcony room overlooking the pond. Very pretty. Inside the room, very dull. Big very, very soft beds. A 20"-ish tube TV, no i-pod dock, not a lot of outlets for all the phones and crap you have to plug in every night. Also a very loud air cond unit, and ancient bathroom fixtures. All these little items wore me down a bit. Breakfast was included and it was a nice buffet. For the $250 per night - I would try somewhere different next time.

Room Tip: Make sure you are pond side - Balcony, 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

My husband and I were married at Chetola Resort on May 21, 2011. My family has vacationed there since I was a little girl and we have always found Chetola truly spectacular. The wedding weekend was no different. From the time we signed a contract with Chetola until the very last guest was checked-out, the staff at Chetola was there for our every need. Check in was simple, the grounds were immaculate, the rooms lovely, the food was out of this world!!! My husband and I were lucky enough to stay in the Bob Timberlake Inn on our wedding night. I had never stayed in the Inn before, but i was overly impressed. The Inn keeper showed us around prior to check in, they even have ben and jerrys 24-hours a day!!! Our room had the best view of the peninsula and lake, we had a large whirlpool tub, music playing with the turn down service, wine and cheese in the library, i could go on and on. Even as a lifelong visitor to Chetola Resort, I left our wedding more amazed than ever before.
This place is truly magnificent! You should spend a weekend here, eat in the lodge, walk bass lake, shop downtown-- all of our wedding guests are still raving about their new favorite mountain destination!
All of our love to the Staff at Chetola Resort!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a resort with a lot of potential. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is helpful and friendly. The location is convenient to downtown Blowing Rock and Boone. However, the rooms are desperately in need of updating. They scream 1980's country decor. It wouldn't take much to fix them. Remove the throw pillows from the bed, we all know those things are never washed, Lose the bedspreads and go with a more modern (and washable) duvet and sheets. The burgandy carpet, while very durable, is dated. Paint the chips on the door frames. And most importantly, please remove the many dust covered fake flower arrangement scattered throughout the room (they are even in the bathroom!).
While we did have a lovely view of the lake, our balcony was essentially useless. The people on the balcony below us sat outside and chainsmoked. It's hard to enjoy the clean mountain air while choking on the cigarette smoke wafting up from below.
Later in the evening we tried to sit outside and watch the beautiful sunset from our balcony. Again, this was hard to enjoy when the peace and quiet was interrupted by very loud refrains of "ice ice baby" and and Run DMC from the wedding reception next to the lake. We love a good party but a) we were here for a quiet and relaxing getaway without the kids and b) we weren't invited:).
I did talk to the front desk, and I did ask for a different room, but I was told that tere were no other rooms available.
We may return with the kids. They would love the pool and playground. And it is close to the local attractions. But for our next escape alone we will opt for the Westglow or Gideon Ridge.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Bob Timberlake Inn (the Bed and Breakfast part of the resort) in the Hugh Morton room. The Timberlake furnishings were lovely but unfortunately we experienced some problems with basics. Poor insulation - we could hear entire conversations in the adjacent room. Very low water pressure and terrible temperature regulation - the shower would turn hot/cold on its own. Only half of the jets in the whirlpool tub worked. One side of the bed sloped off to the floor - my husband had to put the decorative bed pillows between the mattress and box springs on the 2nd night to keep from rolling off in the floor.

The amenities were great - we enjoyed the guest pantry, especially the ice cream. We ate breakfast in the restaurant the first morning and were a bit disappointed but ordered in-room breakfast on the 2nd morning and were very pleased. The afternoon social and turn-down service (with cookies!) were very nice.

We stay frequently at bed and breakfast inns and unfortunately this one will not go on our list for a return trip and we would not recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingmikey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Exchanged my timeshare for a two bedroom/two bath condo at the Chetola Resort. In a nutshell everything was great. Great accommodations, great location (especially if you are skiing on Appalachian Mountain). Electronics in the unit were a little outdated but hey this isn't the place for you if you want to stay in and watch TV all day. Sugar, Beech, and Hawksnest aren't close by but none of them are more than 45 minutes away and Boone is only 10 minutes from the resort.

Perhaps the best place overall to exchange a timeshare in the area. Oh yeah, and free internet too!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

We learned about Chetola through a referral for their Manor House restaurant from another lodging establishment. After encountering a terrible experience at another local bed and breakfast, we inquired about a room at the Bob Timberlake bed and breakfast at Chetola while dining at their wonderful Manor House restaurant. Fortunately, they were able to give us a room for the next evening and it was great. The staff know how to welcome you and cater to your wants and they do it superbly. The setting is absolutely beautiful and the accommodations are definitely top drawer. Everything was so very welcoming and comfortable, from the greeting at the desk, to the wine and cheese social, to the turn down service with cookies and then breakfast in bed the next day. Oh, and the jacuzzi was great as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock

Address: 185 Chetola Lake Dr., Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, an 87-acre resort within walking distance of a quaint mountain village, neighboring a 3,600-acre National Park and surrounded by the Blue Ridge Mountains of Western North Carolina. Enjoy first-class accommodations in Chetola's Lodge, luxury Condominiums or the Bob Timberlake Inn at Chetola Resort, as well as fine dining at Timberlake's Restaurant. Discover The Spa at Chetola Resort, our Health and Wellness programs, and the many opportunities for recreation at Chetola Lake and along the Blue Ridge Parkway. Chetola also offers exceptional meeting and conference facilities and is a favorite destination for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chetola Mountain Hotel Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort
Chetola Mountain Blowing Rock
Blowing Chetola Nc Resort Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.