We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Aero Press” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bald Guy Brew of Blowing Rock

Bald Guy Brew of Blowing Rock
921 Main Street, Upstairs, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
+1 828-406-7990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: We are located inside Footsloggers in an old stone building on Main Street in Blowing Rock. Up in the attic you will find our warn and cozy espresso bar. We look forward to presenting our fresh roasted - fair trade and organic coffees and finely crafted espresso drinks...CHEERS!
San Jose, California
1 review
“Try the Aero Press”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great coffee! Fresh beans, experienced barristas, warm and friendly staff.

I was introduced to the "Aero Press" method of brewing. Give it a try!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    25
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Coffee and Espresso!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Bald Guy Brew in Blowing Rock serves the best coffee and espresso. The coffee beans are organic and fair trade and locally roasted in Boone. Very friendly staff. Cute loft location (above Footsloggers). Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great find and brew!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Excellent coffee and smoothies in a great town. Was very enjoyable to stroll up and down Blowing Rock with a cup of their coffee!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Coffee with Big Soul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I remember when I walked into this place first time and ordered cup of espresso, the owner (Jason as I learned later) said: "This espresso will blow your mind". Know what? It did!
It was by far the best espresso I've ever had. (better than now closed Murky Coffee in DC, behind the Capitol).
This is not the "bold" taste of nation wide chains, which means burnt to charcoal beans put through the machine by a clueless student. It's a greatly balance of aroma, acidity and silky sweetness brewed to perfection with thick layer of crema.
Then I noticed something beyond the taste and structure in that drink. (highly subjective stuff beyond this point) You know how coffee can make you feel energetic, exciter, crazy? This coffee made me relaxed and happy!
I tracked down the source of this great coffee. By the way, Jason is not bald. I was told that the Bald guy lives in Boone. He roasts this great coffee and appears at the farmers market in a van with full blown coffee shop inside. He is a great guy, they have some kind of club of coffee lovers there. It was so great to find these people that put so much love into what they do!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“so so good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

great coffee! they roast their own beans and have their own fair trade agreements with local growers! the beans are seasonal!

great lattes, great service, great pastries, great atmosphere

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bald Guy Brew of Blowing Rock also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Bald Guy Brew of Blowing Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bald Guy Brew of Blowing Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.