We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to Detail; Romance; Views; R&R to the Max” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westglow Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Westglow Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Westglow Resort & Spa
224 Westglow Circle, Blowing Rock, NC 28605   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Attention to Detail; Romance; Views; R&R to the Max”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We celebrated our 10 year anniversary here last week for 2 nights and must say we picked the right spot for reenergizing, relaxing, and quieting down from the busy life. This old world inn with only 6 rooms in the mansion and 3 in a lodge had what we were seeking. The staff is incredibly knowledgeable and go out of their way; the grounds and rooms are immaculate; excellent fitness classes and a best in class spa. We took a few amazing hikes that were less than 10 minutes away, off the Blue Ridge Parkway but otherwise read, relaxed, some fitness and treatments and came away thinking this was awesome.

Room Tip: rooms to the east enjoy an awesome sunrise..i think we had 14a with an awesome shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    6
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
39
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
seacoast N.H.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I just spent a fabulous reunion weekend here. Upon arrival, the front desk (Natalie) was amazing....like we had known each other for years! The rest of the staff was outgoing, helpful, friendly, and sincere. Made us feel immediately like we were in their lovely home! There is nothing pretentious or snooty about this place...from the morning hike to the cozy bar. Here is a place I would recommmend a thousand times!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We went as a couple, and enjoyed our 3 nite stay very much. The staff was incredible, warm, learned our names, and was always trying to help any way they could. The facilities were the cleanest we've ever seen, excellent housekeeping - from room to public areas, from grounds to spa, pool, and locker rooms. Not a stray piece of paper or dust to be found. The bedding in room 10/11 was soft and comfy, bottled water was plentiful, and the breakfast part of the B&B was exceptional. I had the best massage ever (hot stone). The two hikes in the morning were designed for two levels of ability and offered pretty terrain, good fitness, and knowledgeable guides who clearly love what they do. The exercise equipment was in top notch shape. The only caution is to ask before booking if there will be a large party. Remember, this is a historic house - so if an evening activity is underway, you will hear it in your room. But overall, this is a well-managed, well-trained, attention-to-detail place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 10/11 is actually 2 smaller rooms (king & twin) with one (sort of small) bathroom. The 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I just stayed at Westglow and I loved it! It is so beautiful there and they run the place top notch. Every detail is taken care of and there are so many wonderful touches. The linens all smell so clean and fragrant. The spa is first class too, the fitness classes were great and the spa services were incredible and the staff are all so friendly and really go out of their way to make everyone feel welcome and they were extremely helpful.
The spa center is so beautiful too, especially the Relaxation Lounge. That room is gorgeous!
Rowland's served amazing food and it was all so beautiful. I can't say enough great things about this place, if you want luxury and impeccable service along with beautiful views and pampering this is your place. Well worth the money!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

It was a first visit by my wife and I. The restoration of this 1917 mansion was done well and the furnishings/bedding are top notch. Service was exceptional as the professional, and friendly, staff anticipated every need. We never heard a sound anywhere after 10pm each night. We met the talented and gregarious founder, Ms. Valentine, while there and she remains a vital component of this finely tuned operation. The food is gourmet and ample. The message treatments were among best we've ever received and priced reasonably. Activities, including an expert and informative guided hike each morning, to different destinations, made the trip memorable. The views of the mountains from the rooms and property are arguably the best in NC. In an age of standardization of spas and hotel rooms, etc, the experience here is unique and must be reason for its recent #2 in world award by Travel and Leisure magazine. It is near higher end of tariff scale but, because staff to guest ratio is so favorable (and rare), would recommend to everyone who can afford it.

Room Tip: Only 6 rooms in the Mansion and all were nicely furnished, with different sized beds. Only 10/11 ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Westglow. It is so nice to know our guests appreciate all of the hard work and dedication of our staff in making each visit a memorable one. Glynda Valentine is an inspiration to all of us; we cannot imagine what our hikes would be like without her leading the charge. We hope that if your travels bring you back to Blowing Rock you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this place. My husband and I went on a short get away here this month. The hotel, which was formerly a mansion was converted into a luxery b and b. It's beautiful, clean, comfortable. The staff is remarkably wonderful without exception. Each person there, from the front desk to the housekeeping staff, did everything they could to make our stay perfect. There is nothing they wouldn't try to do to accomodate us. The resort is located in a remote by not too remote part of the mountains. The views are beautiful. We did not meet the owners but did not need to to know that they care about their guests. As I said, I can't say enough!

Room Tip: Stay in the mansion for the best experience. There are a couple lodges, which are also nice, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you so much. We loved having you at Westglow. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I've wanted to go to Westglow for years, but the time was never right. Having started a very demanding job in April 2012, I seriously needed a break by July. I booked for 3 days (Th/F/Sa) as a Spa Package. Let it be known upfront that I am known to be very picky about everything. I have to say that I would be pressed to find much to complain about at Westglow. My room (#12) in the mansion was delightful. I had read previous quibbles about the air conditioning. Not sure what that was about. I had no issues. The room was just right for me ( sans husband). Staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating. Food (three meals included-lunch at spa) was extraordinary-and I am a foodie! Spa treatments were great. Hikes were excellent. There was a wedding on site on Saturday, but I was warned about that in advance. There was little to no inconvenience to me, and the music from the reception was great! The only small glitches concerned the dining. The first two nights I was not informed by the waitstaff that I was entitled to 2 starters/entree/dessert as part of my package. I was only offered one starter/entree/dessert. On my final night, my server enlightened me. There was another couple in the dining room that was also unaware of this. Clearly this was NOT communicated well by Westglow. Also, on departure there was a miscommunication about one of the meals for which I had paid cash for the uncovered alcohol. I had left the dining room without getting a receipt. They did end up writing it off. My"bad" for not getting a receipt, but their bad for messing up the payment. Not what I would expect from a Relais and Chateaux! Overall, though, a fabulous experience. I plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback and hope you'll return again soon! Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westglow Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westglow Resort & Spa

Address: 224 Westglow Circle, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Westglow Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westglow Resort And Spa
Westglow Hotel Blowing Rock
Westglow Spa Blowing Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westglow Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.