We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
8412 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A few issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff at reception was polite. The hotel was convenient to my business requirements. The price was very good. The TV and cable options were good. The heater in the room was good. The breakfast was mediocre but typical of an average HIE. There is an Outback Steakhouse within walking distance.

Now for the bad... There was a brown smear on the toilet (not in the bowl) that was clearly overlooked by the cleaning staff. It was gross. Further, it might have been the weirdest bathroom and toilet in an American hotel that I've ever used. The toilet sat maybe 3" lower than the standard old school low toilets which made it feel incredibly lower than the new school ADA type toilets that sit higher. My knees were above my groin when sitting and we're not even close to parallel to the ground. Also, the architect or engineer who designed the layout of the bathroom needs a new career. My left knee hit the toilet roll dispenser and I had to wedge myself into position each time I sat. I'm only 5" 10". That shouldn't happen. And the number one thing that made no sense and really ticked me off is that the toilet seat cover could not sit upright at a 90 degree angle cause the counter top came out too far from the wall. Therefore the seat lid was at a closed angle by at least ten plus degrees. When you sat down, you had to lean forward to do your business. It was weird. As a man, you couldn't lift the seat to go #1 because it wouldn't stay up due to the angle. It forced you to sit down or use one hand to hold the seat and lid. Very complicated. I don't know how others have never complained.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for the review of our hotel. I apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay, Our goal is to make sure every guest has an enjoyable stay with us, but based on your comments we did not do that in your case. We appreciate the feedback and I will pass this on to the ownership of the property and see if we cannot come up with a solution to fix the issues that you mentioned in your comments. I will also talk with the housekeeping supervisors and housekeepers about the issues you experienced in your room. Once again I apologize for the your experience and hope that you will give us another try. Thanks again for staying with us we truly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    100
    51
    10
    5
See reviews for
106
96
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Free breakfast nice hotel...but the toilet looks not clean. Noticed one face towel that is not so white compare to other towels. Its like yellowish white. Aao far so good. Receptionist are so nice and friendly so far.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize for the issues that you experienced during your stay. I thought we had gotten rid of all the towels that had started turning but it seems there is still a few mixed in . Iwill have the executive housekeeper check and make sure that we take any out that is turning yellow. The commodes are clean. Some of them have rust spots in them from when the bolts are sawed off to replace the seats and we have to get a strong rust spot remover to remove them. I thought we had gotten all of them but I will do another walk through to check all of them again.
Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archdale, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My family stayed for a quick ski weekend. Very quiet & comfortable. The staff (everyone): front desk, housekeeping & food service were extremely friendly. The breakfast was yummy and bountiful as the staff worked tirelessly to replenish the food for many people. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
AT

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your kind words onto the staff, Our goal is to provide great service to all our guest. We appreciate your feedback. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Can't go wrong with 2 Queen size beds and a full breakfast in the morning when travelling with the family. Great little hotel. Nice staff, clean premises. Will say that the pool is much smaller than it appears in the photos, but is very warm, and the kids still enjoyed it. Great value for money. We stayed here to go tubing at Hawks Nest. Very convenient to Boone and Blowing Rock.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank You for the review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to provide great service to all of guest. I will pass your kind words on to the the staff. Thanks again for your feedback and staying with us, we truly appreciate it.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My family really enjoy this humble but cozy hotel. the pool was fine,
super clean rooms, the front desk people very friendly ... and maybe the price was right
had a lovely Christmas and I'm sure we will return soon

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Leo G

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Climax, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a New Years trip to the mountains. The room was very clean and well appointed. Bedding was comfy and warm. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The indoor pool was warm and clean. The breakfast selection was decent and well stocked. Overall I highly recommend and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your kind words onto the staff. Thanks again for staying with us we truly appreciate it.

Hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Clean, friendly hotel. Very close to shopping district in Blowing Rock. Convenient to all restaurants. Good value. Visited on Dec. 3 for annual visit and Christmas Tree cutting. Would recommend this for anyone, including families with children.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are glad to hear you ewnjoyed your stay with us, I will pass your feedback on to the staff. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it.

Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

Address: 8412 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The High Country's newest hotel! Our beautiful newly renovated rooms include two queen beds, one king bed, as well as deluxe rooms all with flat-screen HDTVs, microwaves and refrigerators. Stop by in the morning to enjoy our complimentary Smart Start Hot Breakfast. Available every day, the breakfast bar offers our world famous cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon, gravy biscuits, Pancakes and more! We also have an indoor heated pool, fitness center and business center all available to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South Hotel Blowing Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.