We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
8412 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for two nights while in the Boone/Blowing Rock area. It is very close to the Tanger Outlets and a handful of restaurants. The room was nice and clean. It does not have a great view of the mountains. The price was great and the breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    100
    51
    10
    5
See reviews for
106
96
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed at this property two weeks ago and had a nice stay. The entrance to the hotel is kind of tricky if you're not paying attention (there's road construction in front of the hotel). Check in was kind of slow but it was a computer issue, not the girl at the front desk.

I was given a room on the top floor, on the back side of the hotel. I seriously think I was the only person on that floor. I didn't hear a sound all night.

The room was clean, the beds comfy.

The only problem I had was it was COLD in the room. The heat was off of course when I checked in but even after that, the room never really got warm. The bathroom floor was like standing on ice! I'd still stay at this hotel again if I was in the area, though. I'd just make sure it wasn't in the winter when I visited.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side of the hotel are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

On a whim, my wife and I decided to take an overnight trip to blowing rock to hit the outlets and downtown shops. Using our AA discount, we got a two queen bed room for $94 per night. Parking was plentiful, Check in was a breeze, and it is 5 steps up or down to either of the floors.

Rooms were standard size with desk and a power strip offering plenty of spots to plug in all your electronics. Wifi worked fine. Room was clean. Breakfast was a hot express with eggs, ham, and biscuit and gravy on top of the usual continental items.

The hotel is walking distance to foggy rock, outback, and BBQ restaurants. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms are on the back side of the hotel opposite hwy 321.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear drobjr,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at this location for 2 nights and were thoroughly impressed. The first thing that I noticed was the pleasant and accommodating staff. Even more impressive was the "continental" breakfast they serve daily. This was far from continental! They offer a wide range of food, including eggs, sausage, bacon, bagels, toast, Danish, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, oatmeal, cereal, fruit, yogurt, juices, milk, and coffee. I'll certainly make a return trip!

Room Tip: The staff suggested we stay in a room located away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, NC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed one night on my points and found this to be a very nice Holiday Inn Express. The beds and linens are crisp and clean. The check in desk staff was very helpful, and breakfast the next morning was great with an excellent variety of items including eggs, cereal, biscuits, etc. The nice lady working in the breakfast room was very attentive and friendly. The hotel is very clean as well and the location is very convenient. I would recommend this hotel for your next stay in the area!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We made reservations on line for one night during the week. We were hoping for snow since we were bringing our family and kids. The price was very reasonable for two rooms. We checked in at about 4PM. An hour later it was snowing. We were all happy.
Behind the hotel there is a perfect area for using sleds and making a snowman if you feel like it. We could see from our room window how the kids were enjoying the snow.
The hotel rooms were spacious and clean, with very nice pillows. The bathroom, even though it is small, it was clean and with a good supply of towels.
Breakfast was very good, good selection and a great pancake machine!!
The only inconvenience was that we had to walk to a restaurant while snowing because we couldn't drive our car.
We are definitely coming back soon.

Room Tip: We were in the third floor, they have a good view. If you book during the week is less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

everything is satisfactory at this holiday inn. They were very accommodating and we appreciated being able to combine a paid night with a rewards night. They had a great little hill behind the hotel that was perfect for our kids to sled, snowboard and build a snowfort!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

Address: 8412 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The High Country's newest hotel! Our beautiful newly renovated rooms include two queen beds, one king bed, as well as deluxe rooms all with flat-screen HDTVs, microwaves and refrigerators. Stop by in the morning to enjoy our complimentary Smart Start Hot Breakfast. Available every day, the breakfast bar offers our world famous cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon, gravy biscuits, Pancakes and more! We also have an indoor heated pool, fitness center and business center all available to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South Hotel Blowing Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.