We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
8412 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Raleigh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here on the second night of a recent trip to the mountains. Great hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. Great room, great night sleep and great breakfast. The only bad part of the trip was how cold it was, but that is not the hotels fault.

The hotel is in a great location close to restaurants and places to visit and enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    99
    49
    10
    5
See reviews for
105
94
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here two nights to ski at Appalachian Ski Mountain. The location is great - just a short drive to the ski area, to Boone, and to Grandfather Mountain (great hiking). Check-in was quick and friendly. No problems with the room: beds, pillows, linens were comfortable, and everything was clean. The only downside was the tub didn't drain quickly (I forgot to mention this to the front desk). Workout room is limited (3 cardio machines) but clean. The hotel had an updated look and comfortable feel. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise, with plenty of variety (hot pancakes, hot cinnimon rolls, hot meats, as well as yogurt, fruit, etc.). And as busy as it got one morning (so busy there weren't enough tables!), the staff did an excellent job keeping the breakfast foods and supplies stocked. Overall great experience; I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, North Carolina, USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Holiday Inn has never let us down. Once again we had a very nice room, a delicious breakfast.
We were checked in by a very nice woman who gave us suggestions of restaurants and just seemed to care if we had a nice stay. The entire hotel was clean and welcoming.

Room Tip: Become a Priority Club member for refreshments when you check in, earn points for a free stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had been looking forward to this trip for a while and were not disappointed at all, easy check -in I was using my Priority Points for this stay . We had a huge room I will say very comfortable as well Rm 312 if I remember correctly. We knew the place was full but very easy parking still,but with a full hotel you just know the breakfast buffet is going to be busy ,which it was but very smoothly run ,we noticed they had trays available so grabbed what we needed and headed back to the room. all in all a great stay well done folks.

Room Tip: Well as I say we had Room 312 King loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

On arrival my husband wasn't sure he even wanted to go in but because we had prepaid through a discount online service we didn't have much choice. The front desk people were very friendly and our room was clean, as was the common areas of the hotel. Since we were on vacation we chose to leave the DND tag out each morning until we left for the day. This didn't go well for us at first. On Monday, our room was cleaned but the bathroom was not serviced. I called the front desk and asked for towels and soap. They were delivered in a timely manner. On Tuesday our room was not serviced at all. Both days we were out of the room prior to noon and removed the tag. After speaking with the front desk clerk and the manager, who happened to walk by, the room was cleaned that evening and we waited in the lobby area. A note was made for the cleaning crew that we would be out of the room by noon each day, so they knew when to service it.
We did not eat the breakfast but did enjoy the fruit and beverages available throughout the day.
The workout area was clean but there was no water in the dispenser.
Overall it appeared a bit dated on the outside and is a retro look in the common area. If we return to the area if the price is right I would stay there again, despite the rough start we got off to. We spent 5 nights at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Meadows87,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am so pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff and the food and beverages we offer everyday. I would like to apologize for the unacceptable service you received during your stay and any inconvenience the situation may have caused you. I am also sorry for the issues you had with our fitness center. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on Saturday night for a getaway weekend. It was very comforatable and clean and the staff was very friendly. We stayed on the third floor and it was quiet also. It is also convenient to shopping and restaurants. The only inconvience was the road work on 321, but that will hopefully finished soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express is an average hotel of its type. The room was clean and typically appointed. Service was fine. The breakfast was good, with a hot entree and lots of side choices. The location is not directly in town, but it is convenient. I felt that the price was a bit high, but given the area, it was on a par with other establishments. All in all, it would be a good choice to stay in the Blowing Rock area.

Room Tip: There is not much difference in room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

Address: 8412 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The High Country's newest hotel! Our beautiful newly renovated rooms include two queen beds, one king bed, as well as deluxe rooms all with flat-screen HDTVs, microwaves and refrigerators. Stop by in the morning to enjoy our complimentary Smart Start Hot Breakfast. Available every day, the breakfast bar offers our world famous cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon, gravy biscuits, Pancakes and more! We also have an indoor heated pool, fitness center and business center all available to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South Hotel Blowing Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.