We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food in Quaint Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Cafe

Village Cafe
Main Street, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
(828) 295-3769
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 40 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Food in Quaint Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Two couples enjoyed lunch at the Village Café during fall leaf change in Blowing Rock. The service was excellent: the setting lovely. One wanders down an alley along a stone pathway to a hidden retreat. We climbed stairs to be seated in a small, simple room with only 4 small tables which made talk easy. The young gal serving us did an excellent job ensuring all our needs were met and making recommendations which we enjoyed. We all appreciated a never ending glass of iced tea accompanied with lemon and sugar water so we could sweeten to our preference. The four of us started each with a different cup of soup ($5) accompanied by their fabulous homemade fugusa bread. Each soup had excellent flavor. Two of us enjoyed the lunch special of apricot chicken salad (about $12) based on the reviews of departing patrons. We enjoyed the flavor combination and would order it again. Our two men happily approved their smoked turkey and cheese sandwiches ($11) with a delicious and unique fig and balsamic chutney on the Café’s homemade fugusa bread. We all recommend with confidence and look forward to returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    57
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Good for Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Ate here twice for breakfast. Access is from the Main Street via a path through a nice garden area.
On both occasions we were seated upstairs. I enjoy omelettes and had that both days ($10). My wife had the French toast ($9). Both were delivered fairly quickly and were of a good quality.
Good start to the day!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best breakfast !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you are in Blowing Rock, NC looking for the best breakfast, ever....go to the Village Cafe.
Annie, and her staff, will take good care of you; service and food are superb!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Quaint spot in the heart of Blowing Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Visited the Village Café the first Sunday morning in November for brunch. This is a seasonal restaurant and it was their last day open until next April. The restaurant is a small inn with only 20 seats downstairs and only a very small bar with another 4 seats. There is more seating upstairs but we did not see that area. They have a nice garden terrace that I am sure would be great during nice weather. The food and service was excellent. I think my server refilled my coffee cup 5 times without prompting. Breakfast items were delicious, but on the pricy side. If you want to spend less, there are other breakfast options in the area. Really worth the visit or the wait if you are in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Quaint place, fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Delicious! We were seated upstairs and enjoyed the quaint-ness of the café. The ingredients in the omelets were very fresh as was the fruit garnish. Only drawback was the OJ used in the mimosas had pulp in it (yuck) and there was too much OJ was used...I like my mimosas to have just a hint of color...! Overall, good food and good service.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Cafe also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Village Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.