We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Cafe

Village Cafe
Main Street, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
(828) 295-3769
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 40 restaurants in Blowing Rock
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Tequesta
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely lunch at this "hidden" restaurant, which you find by literally walking down a garden path. With indoor and outdoor seating available we chose to sit outdoors on a beautiful, breezy day. The place was bustling and we were greeted by owner Annie (husband Andy is the chef). Annie keeps everything running like a clock!

The soup special - creamy mushroom - was delicious. I had a chicken and veggie crepe, which was just perfect. My husband had another special, a chicken and apricot salad. He hates chicken salad (a texture issue) and wasn't aware this would be chicken salad (vs a salad with chicken). After one taste he declared it to be delicious. So that's really saying something. We wrapped up the meal with a terrific espresso.

We wouldn't hesitate to return to the Village Cafe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    127
    42
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McLeansville, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great cafe, food, service-awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Have visited this cafe many times. Consistently good. Food is very good and the service is great, it is one of my favorite places to eat in Blowing Rock. Serves breakfast and lunch, but the breakfast is outstanding, service is good, very efficient!! I love the outdoor seating.

You will not be disappointed. I highly recommend Village Cafe in the beautiful mountains of North Carolina!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food with great outdoor dining!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The draw of this restaurant is the outdoor dining. The food was good but nothing super amazing. We did like the fugasa bread - an Argentine sour dough bread - with preserves. The french toast and sandwiches were very good as well. I would eat here again for breakfast or lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Get away mountain weekend? Just the two of you?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Of course Blowing Rock anticipates tourists. But they've created an inviting, well kept, fun place to escape the routine. This little restaurant fits right in. It's tucked off the Main Street, a quaint and comfortable old house (watch your head as you climb upstairs) with really nice breakfast and brunch, reasonably priced, options. It's a couples place through and through. Apparently locals complain that there's not enough change in the menu, but hey, most of us are just there for a visit. What's not to like?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Recommended by our guest house and didn't disappoint .Quant place,friendly staff.Sat inside as it had been raining,but would be nice to sit in the really pleasant garden on good days. Good menu,something for everyone,with a daily special.Food freshly cooked and cooked well,plenty of it if you are hungry.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Cafe also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Village Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.