We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little place with friendly amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins
Save
You added Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins to your Saves list
827 Main Street, Blowing Rock, NC 28605   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Quaint little place with friendly amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We decided to stay in Blowing Rock while traveling across the mountains from North Carolina to Tennessee because Boone has become just another town with typical hotels. Blowing Rock is much smaller and laid back. It's still a quaint little mountain town. The Mountainaire Inn was very reasonably priced and has a very friendly hotel staff. We were offered wine glasses, so we wouldn't be tacky and drink wine from a plastic cup. You can walk up into the town and it's a nice stroll for shops and restaurants. There's a great breakfast place across the street that is recommended by hotel staff because they don't provide breakfast. At night, there's a campfire with chairs for all the guests to sit around and talk. We met some nice folks. It was almost like staying in a campground.

Negatives - controls on TV in the room didn't work - we didn't mind too much. The room is very small. The water pressure in the shower was very weak.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the inner corner rooms. They have a shared entrance with another room that is awkward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    28
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
59
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leland, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

My husband and I made our first trip to Blowing Rock, NC for our 40th anniversary. Making our reservation only two weeks before our stay, I chose the Mountainaire Inn for location and vacancy. We were pleasantly surprised in so many ways. We loved the town, but the Inn was cozy, friendly and all staff were so helpful. We were given all the information we needed for restaurants and location, directions etc. The inn is small, but cozy and well taken care of. Our king bed room, was a little small but fine to us. There was room for a desk and chair for reading and luggage. The bathroom seemed updated and very clean. Our only complaint was the king matress which was very soft to us and may need replaced, which I read on one review prior. The air conditioner worked well but was very loud but we needed it as it was warm when we were there. We loved the outdoor sitting area with a fire, And the ice machine, and refrigerator available to all guests. Also the availbility of coffee and HOT CHOCOLATE every morning we loved. I never even get hot chocolate in higher end hotels. We met the owner who was personal and available, and greeted all like famlly. Restaurant directly across the street, Knights, was wonderful for breakfast. All in all, we loved the close proximity to walk to town frequently, and get outside of town by car as needed. We will definitley go back and stay there again. Loved the cabins on the property also but did not see inside them. Great inn for the money and all rooms were taken the weekend we were there.

Room Tip: Ask about the newness of the mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Fl.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Retro motel, made us feel like it was the 1950s! Great location - couldn't get closer to downtown. Beautiful outdoor garden and fire pit. The room was small and dated, but very clean and had everything you need, although the pillows were not the most comfortable....The bathrooms have been updated and again, super clean. Loved the little area off the office that offered coffee, teas, mini frig, ice, free newspapers and travel brochures galore! It was open 24 hours a day, complete with ceramic mugs and cream and honey for my Earl Grey tea! Overall, good value and experience as long as you realize it's old fashioned. I'd stay again, just with my own pillow!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

The Mountainaire is a quaint, older property in Boone within easy walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. The owners and staff are friendly and helpful. Our room, while small, was spotlessly clean. There was plenty of water pressure in the shower. They have added high-speed internet. There was not enough room in our small, 1 Queen bed room for both the small work table and a comfortable chair to relax and read a book in. Our main disappointment was with the mushy and sagging mattress. It's poor quality led to an unsatisfactory sleep for me. Also, while the parking is free, there were not enough parking spaces for the number of guests they had that particular weekend. As we checked out I spoke with the host about the quality of the mattress in our room and she shared that the mattresses were on the verge of being changed out and that the queen rooms were the first scheduled to receive new mattresses. We would give them another try if they have updated the mattresses.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

After 6 weeks of traveling on the road, we decided to splurge for our last night at the Mountainaire Inn. When we arrived (late, around 9) Debbie was there to greet us and after I told her about our tiring travels she upgraded us to the best cabin! Gorgeous and relaxing to say the least. Thank you for the hospitality and the chance to unwind in a huge bubble bath with a fire! AND...a special romance mix on the CD player complete with our favorite old school R&B/soul artists! Nice touch :)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We planned a trip during the first week of October and finally found a vacancy at the Mountainaire and Holiday Inn Express. We opted for the Mountainaire because of the location and so glad we did. The room was clean and very quaint. The weather turned cooler while we were there and we loved the heater in the bathroom. All the rooms had screen doors that made it feel homey. I'm so glad we stayed here and would definately love to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We just spent 2 nights in a quaint little log cabin in the mountain town of Blowing Rock and this Inn was absolutely PERFECT. Nothing fancy, but all the comforts of home with great warmth and charm. The furnishings were simple but comfortable, the appliances clean and adequate, the bed very comfortable. Despite the rustic setting there was easily accessible internet access and a great tv, and everything in town was within walking distance. The grounds were lovely as well. We hope to return in the near future!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins

Address: 827 Main Street, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Mountainaire Inn & Log Cabins. We pride ourselves on our hospitality, with eleven delightful rooms, and ten cozy, inviting log cabins, accompanied by our well maintained gardens and landscaping. We are a charming boutique hotel unique among Blowing Rock's lodging accommodations, offering convenience to downtown Blowing Rock, nearby shopping, exceptional dining, and the arts. We are a short driving distance to all of the diverse outdoor activities the high country provides. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountainaire Inn And Log Cabins Hotel Blowing Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.