We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A threadbare motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Black Mountain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Black Mountain to your Saves list
Super 8 Black Mountain
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Flat Creek Road, Black Mountain, NC 28711   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Black Mountain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A threadbare motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have stayed at a lot of Super 8s over the years. Most have been basic, pretty new, but clean and well-kept. This Super 8, through relatively comfortable, showed its age with older fixtures, worn furnishings and mold in the bathroom. It is conveniently located to Asheville area attractions, but if I stay in this area again, I will probably stick to Asheville.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    60
    66
    38
    40
See reviews for
71
65
31
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

2 girlfriends and I came to the Asheville area for the night and were strictly looking for an affordable bed for the night. We weren't expecting much but were pleasantly surprised by both the staff and the rooms. Yes, it's a Super 8 so is it a 5 star hotel? No. It was a clean, comfortable room in a safe area. It's about 20 minutes into downtown Asheville and it's also just a half mile from downtown Black Mountain- which was a cool area to hang out in. Great staff here, comfortable (and clean) digs and we'd stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I'll admit, I haven't stayed in many motels. Those I've stayed in have often been less-than-stellar, so my family quickly made a priority of setting a bit more aside for a nicer hotel room.

However, this was a road trip, and one of the first trips I've planned on my own, so funds were a bit tighter and motels seemed to be the way to go (after all, it was just a place to sleep). This was the second stop on our trip, and after the fiasco that was the first motel, this was a welcome change of pace.

First off, the few complaints: the room was a little bit smelly, but as we soon realized, that was mostly due to the AC having a bit of a 'musty' smell to it, which kind of comes with the territory. The shower could have used a bit of care in the way of grouting, but other than that was passable. We also had some gnats in the room, but that's just as much our fault as it is the room's.

So then on to the rest of it.

Of the three Super 8 motels we stayed at on our trip, this was probably second-best. The beds were comfortable and (relatively) clean, and nothing was broken or disfunctional. The room came with a microwave and mini fridge, neither of which we knew we were getting, so that was a nice way to chill some bottled water for the next (long) leg of our trip. The hotel had the usual continental breakfast in the main lobby, and had a pool (though we didn't use it, it looked clean and well-kept).

The best part of this motel, though, was its location. Black Mountain is a beautiful, wonderful little town. Very clean, well-developed, but almost all mom-and-pop type shops in the main area of town, right where the Super 8 is located. The motel was surrounded by views of the mountains, and had a lot of tree cover and a stream nearby that gave it a very secluded feel, despite being right near the main road of town. There is great food in the area (we recommend the coffee shop up the street for breakfast or snack and the TrailHead for a good, hearty meal or an adult beverage or two). The town also seems to be lively, as they had a slew of events we sadly didn't have time to partake in that weekend.

Worth staying here if even just for the sake of visiting the town.

Room Tip: Can't really go wrong, honestly. A couple buildings. If you can get one further back from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The air conditioner and TV, worked. It was relatively quiet. The bed was comfortable. $61.00 may have been a bit steep. The carpet was not clean, the bathtub needed re-grouting, the ceiling was peeling and the rug wall border had come loose. There were several patch paint jobs. Overall, think you can do better for the price.

A 2 is as high as it deserves.

LarryPatandWally

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The room was OK, but the carpet really needed to be vacuumed. People were hanging out just outside the rooms and smoking. It nullified, for a while, anyway, the fact that we had a non-smoking room, as the smoke smell drifted into our room. They should save themselves the expense by not offering breakfast. It's not worth the effort of going to the lobby, other than for the coffee. The best thing about this place is that for the area, it's well-priced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights, we love the Asheville and surrounding areas. The room was good and clean. It was nice to be able to walk up into Black Mountain for meals and shopping. Pool was nice. we will definitelyuse this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We love the price & We love the location- feels faraway yet is close to major highways. Located in a cute mountain town, it is walking distance to quaint local eateries and taverns. Amenities that allow me to get away from my job include fast wifi. Originally an older property, it has been remodeled & upgraded- the the beds were comfortable, the newer furniture attractive, the plumbing works like you hope but don't always get even in an expensive hotel ( I hate a slow draining shower) I will be back

Room Tip: I like the 2nd floor rear, you have a big mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Black Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Black Mountain

Address: 101 Flat Creek Road, Black Mountain, NC 28711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Black Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Black Mountain 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Super 8 Black Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Black Mountain Hotel Black Mountain
Super Eight Black Mountain
Black Mountain Super 8
Black Mountain Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Black Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.