We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! It's THAT good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Rocker Inn Restaurant

The Red Rocker Inn Restaurant
136 N. Dougherty St., Black Mountain, NC 28711
888-669-5991
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow! It's THAT good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Dined at the Red Rocker Inn Restaurant during a recent stay at the inn and it did not disappoint. The food was delicious and the service was excellent!! They serve complimentary homemade buttermilk biscuits with homemade apple butter and trust me, they are G-O-O-D!!!! While we didn't try any of the desserts (we were stuffed!), they looked absolutely divine as they were brought out to other guests. Even if you're not staying there, make a reservation and try it - - I don't think you'll regret it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    16
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Save Room for Dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were told the desserts were great - and they are! I ate a salad for dinner saving room for dessert. They serve great bisquits before dinner (which I could never pass up) and my husband had a steak for dinner which he liked.

For dessert, he had the Reese's PNut Butter Ice Cream pie which everyone loved. I had the "Junebug" pie and it was incredible. Chocolate, cheesecake, another layer of chocolate. OMG. Brought half home and ate the rest for breakfast!

They also have fabulous home made applesauce that you can buy and take home. We forgot but were too full to go back the next day!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Still The Same After All This Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We used to go to the Red Rocker B & B when our girls were Little and we took them to Camp Greystone. It must be 25 years ago when we first came when there was a big tire swing in the front yard and the dining porch was not enclosed. I remember they prayed before the evening meal. Now they pray only at breakfast our waiter told us. It is still very popular as you can tell by the website and their awards.

Ou trout was delicious! Although it did require a lot of lemon. We had a nice bottle of French white. The desserts are the most fabulous and all homemade. We had blackberry cobbler, apple pie with caramel drizzle and berry pie that included rhubarb. Enough for six people not just four.

Don't miss a walk down to the lake if you go and certainly if you only go for dinner like we did. They happened to be having a live performance since it was summer and Thursday night. We walked back and sat in the chairs out front and swung on the porch swing. It was a cool evening.

A great place for dinner or to stay. Still great after all these years. Some places you are disappointed if you return. This is not the case here I am happy to say!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Happy, happy taste buds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Our delightful stay at the RED ROCKER INN was matched only by the fantastic food that we partook of for dinner and then at the breakfast buffet. We made our dinner reservations (you would want to do this as well) at the same time as our room accommodations. There are many fine choices from the dinner menu. The evening we were there we chose the meat loaf, crab cakes (as good as I have EVER had, even in the low country of Charleston), their cheese grits and some delicious summer mixed veggies. And then ~ there is their homemake biscuits. They just may want to make you slap your grandma! Served along side the perfect temperature butter, and again, homemake apple butter. Soooo good!!! (You will just need to get use to the phrase "home made" in this review.) Couple this with a favorite glass of wine or locally (Asheville) brewed beer and you will have quite the memorable dinner. On our visit we were tempted with nine (9) different desserts. Oh my goodness. We selected the Praline Apple Pie w/vanilla ice cream. And a very good choice it was.
At breakfast the next morning we were welcomed to the buffet with an explanation of all that was available and if perhaps the spinach quiche did not suit us they would make eggs to order. But in our case the quiche was perfect as was the bacon, the stewed apples, again ~ the biscuits, the apple french toast and fresh blueberry muffins. There was also the offerings of link sausage, a variety of fresh fruits, granola made in-house, cheese grits and gravy. It is of the utmost importance that you bring a good, hearty appetite when you visit the RED ROCKER INN for a meal. I truly look forward to YOUR review after you have treated yourself to a portion of divine food from this establishment. They certainly know what they are doing in the kitchen.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Red Rocker Inn Rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Fabulous setting for a great dinner at moderate prices. Wife and I had rainbow trout - never better.
My former college roommate and his wife also very pleased. Good waiter, much fun, great place to slow down and get caught up on life. Try it, you will be so glad you did. Dessert is to die for! Come early and sip wine on the beautiful front porch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Rocker Inn Restaurant also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Red Rocker Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Rocker Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.