We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berliner Kindl German Restaurant

Berliner Kindl German Restaurant
121 Broadway St, Black Mountain, NC 28711-3422
828-669-5255
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
“Great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Good food and service nice find with good feel only one beer on tap but nice selection of bottled. The apple walnut cake was Devine

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    22
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good front end people trying to be great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Quality meats and breads. Excellent wait staff, frustrated by stubborn kitchen help (unqualified to be called chef). We were served awful cold potato salad that was undercooked by several stages, which we learned was a persistent problem. Kartofelsalat is served well done, and warm. Meats were excellent quality, service was good, kitchen needs to get its act together.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“JACKPOT Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We look for German restaurants as we travel around the US. Stumbled across this gem just exploring Black Mountain. Had a short wait at lunch time on a Saturday, but I would gladly wait anytime for this treat. We had sausage platters with home made sauerkraut. Great!! To finish, we shared a Cherry Strudel. Light, flaky, and tart. As good a meal as we have had in a while. On our favorites list!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a very good dinner at the Berliner with five of us each ordering something different and all enjoying our meal immensely. We had a pork loin special, a couple of the schnitzels and a mixed sausage plate. The favorite was the chef special, called the Jagerschnitzel, but we all were very pleased. Our server was the chef's wife who was very helpful, even when we asked her to call out dessert in German! We had to order a couple and both the fruit tart and apple strudel were delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This place had a wonderful atmosphere. It really felt like you just stepped into a different city. I'm sure the food is good, but as a semi-vegetarian, it was very difficult to find something to eat on the menu. Not their fault of course, but just fair warning for those of you not into schnitzel. Germans don't eat veggies? The grilled swiss cheese sandwich was good, although, not exactly what I was hoping for!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berliner Kindl German Restaurant also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Berliner Kindl German Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berliner Kindl German Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.