We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive to Customer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berliner Kindl German Restaurant

Berliner Kindl German Restaurant
121 Broadway St, Black Mountain, NC 28711-3422
828-669-5255
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
“Attentive to Customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The food was seasoned just right, the atmosphere, the waitresses were top notch. There are not many restaurants that prepare German food, so when we find one we are delighted..

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    25
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Little German joy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I visited with my extended family and it was very welcoming. The atmosphere was nice but nothing distinctly German. The wait staff was very welcoming and great with our 8 month old son. I ordered the schnitzel sandwich and my wife ordered the bratwurst sandwich. My sandwich was very good the meat was tender and very well prepared. I would however recommend that you get it without mayo and add the homemade mustard instead. The bratwurst sandwich was very good and also wonderful with the mustard and the side of German potato salad. I ordered a side of German fried potatoes and they very not very well prepared. They lacked taste and were a little dry. Overall great experience but I think it would be a even better place for dinner.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious German food, very good service too! Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This restaurant was such a fun lunch spot before we hit the awesome shops in Black Mountain. The Bavarian burger and sausage sandwiches, sauerkraut, and potato salad were excellent! We enjoyed it very much!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Authentic German fare and ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A little difficult for this vegetarian to find a lot on the menu, but the cabbage dish is delicious, great wine list and the decor is so European!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Am I in Germany?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I thought I was actually in Germany for my whole dinner. Delicious authentic German food and desserts. You will love it !

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berliner Kindl German Restaurant also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Berliner Kindl German Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berliner Kindl German Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.