We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK BBQ - Meets Eco-Wasteland” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Phil's BBQ Pit

Phil's BBQ Pit
701 NC Highway 9, Black Mountain, NC 28711
(828) 669-3606
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OK BBQ - Meets Eco-Wasteland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

While this was a typical BBQ restaurant, order at the counter, get your piles of varying qualities of meats and some high sugar drinks, it is the thoughtlessness that destroyed the visit. This is a sit-down, and carryout BBQ joint. I am used to seeing the enormous amounts of Styrofoam and plastic going out the door to be used at home and then sent off to the landfill. It was the fact that they do not use plates or silverware in the restaurant that completely offended me. There is no option but to use throw-aways and plastic when dinning in, thereby forcing unknowing passersby, to load the landfill with each order. While I am sure this increases the profit level for Phil, this surely reduces the best chances for our society as well as future generation’s (have any kids Phil?) chances to live anywhere close to the life we are living today. So, no, I won’t be going back to Phil’s nor would I ever suggest its average BBQ and larger than average carbon footprint.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    16
    20
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“YUMMY meat and AWESOME slaw!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I am not a BBQ fan. I am picky about it, and if there is a teeny bit of fat in there I go all sorts of nuts. THIS place is fabulous. I am really surprised to see negative reviews, because I just am NOT a fan of BBQ, and I could eat at this place daily. The chopped pork has NO fat and is so moist..yum yum..and the vinegar slaw is to die for. If this place was in business when I worked in Black Mountain years ago, I'd have eaten there every day. I'm eager to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Phil's BBQ Pit is good. The BBQ brisket is very good. The offer great portion sizes and a great variety on their menu. They also have a small putt-putt course outside. They have a large seating area inside also.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eat Somewhere Else - Save your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Saw all the billboard advertisements traveling I-40 west towards Asheville NC. Turned out to be a memorable dining experience - it was awful. The BBQ was very dry with NO TASTE - Red sauce did not help it any. Sides were small - 5 onion rings - 4 hush puppies with a spoon full of slaw for a 'large' sandwich at a cost $10 with water. Wendy's would have been a much better choice. There is good BBQ all over NC, just not at Phil’s. Save your money!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The mountains
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great BBQ with a variety of sauces”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Local restaurant right off I-40 at the Black Mountain exit. This is a local favorite for great BBQ, including pork, chicken, beef, with a great variety of sauces. You order at the counter, they prepare it fast, and then you pick up. Nothing fancy but who cares when you get large portions of some of the best tasting BBQ you will find. They now have a beer station where there is a great choice of local beers as well as the regular choices. Outside patio available to sit and enjoy the great views of the mountains. Well worth getting off the interstate for a quick meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phil's BBQ Pit also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Phil's BBQ Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phil's BBQ Pit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.