We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palate

Palate
308 State Street, Monte Vista Hotel, Black Mountain, NC 28711
828-669-8870
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Fine food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I enjoyed my meal here. The menu is not extensive, but there are enough items to please most people, and the food and service were very good. One important warning, though: on weekends they have live music even in the dinner hour. There was a pianist / singer who was good, but he used an amplifier. We were in another room and could barely hear each other talk. Are you running a restaurant or a bar? You don’t have room for both.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went to the former restaurant at the Monte Vista Hotel several years ago. It is under new ownership and has been beautifully renovated. There are two huge dining areas, and also patio dining.
We went on a Sunday afternoon after the brunch, and just ordered appetizers. We were especially excited about the fried green tomatoes since we had heard they were wonderful. Unfortunately, we were disappointed, because the tomatoes were in between green and ripe.
The breading was probably good, but it disintegrated when we tried to cut them, so we tried picking them up, only to experience the same problem. They were also very tough to chew.
Our next choice was the flatbread, and it was excellent. It had a good sauce, lots of mozzarella cheese, bacon chips, and other ingredients.
Although we were a bit disappointed, we would go back and try the Sunday buffet.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Went there for Valentines day. They have a very limited menu, maybe 6 entrees and one special. I had a steak which was cooked perfectly but had only average taste. It was served with a vegetable and mashed potatoes which were runny and tasteless. My wife had a salad which looked perfect and would have loved it except the dressing was not very good. She also had a chicken sandwich as she could not find a suitable entree. Had it not been for the recent snowstorm we would have went to Asheville for Valentines dinner. The place is nicely decorated and the service was good, just disappointed in the limited menu and cost for average food.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Having not been since the new owners remodeled we were pleasantly surprised. They did an excellent job remodeling the place and it is very nice. Our waiter while new did an excellent job and went back to the kitchen to get answers. Our food was served within a reasonable amount of time. All 4 meals were very well prepared and tasted great. With the exception of the omelet,the portions were a little on the small size.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Tried the Palate with some unease since the "Yelp" reviews were not that good. Since me and my partner were staying here lazy won the day. Boy were we glad we did, The food was excellent! Service was great! Prices with in reason. The music very enjoyable. We will eat and stay here again on future trips.
James and Kevin

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palate also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Palate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.