We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walked to restaurant; Great food, friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole's Guacamoles

Ole's Guacamoles
401 E State St, Black Mountain, NC 28711-3518
828-669-0550
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Lake Wales
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Walked to restaurant; Great food, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were visiting Black Mountain for only two nights and arrived pretty hungry.
Whilst Grandpa and youngest granddaughter relaxed in our room, eldest granddaughter and I traipsed across the mountain stream bridge to Ole's.
They were VERY busy, but very kind and friendly.
ALL of our food was delicious, well prepared, and their salsa bar had so many choices!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    31
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mexican food at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were here for a family celebration of life for my uncle and this was one of his favorite places to eat, we know why! Food was good, hot, and plentiful. And the price can't be beat! Bud light $1.99 special 16oz, the chips and bean dip with the salsa bar all complimentary with your dinner. I had the fish tacos omg where those good on a homemade soft corn taco and this yummy cilantro sauce, hubby had a enchilada covered in traditional mole' sauce, cousin had fajita's looked yummy no one complained we had 25 people service was spot on too. You won't be disappointed if you like Mexican. Next time I'd like to eat outside that look inviting with the stream in the back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waynesboro
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Quick service, tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The service here was really fast, but without making you feel they wanted to you to eat up and get out.

Their salsa bar was interesting, all very fresh tasting with a nice mix of flavors. There is a green salsa that tasted like cucumbers and cilantro that was fresh and tasty.

I got a shrimp fajita, my husband got a steak and cheese fajita and our friend got a chicken fajita. We all really enjoyed our meals and had enough to take home for munchies later.

My only complaint was that we were seated in the bar and it was extremely noisy. It was during the world cup and there were enthusiastic patrons there, but even when they were not cheering, the noise level was very high.

We will most definitely be going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful creekside dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The food is good, and if the service is a little off, sitting beside Flat Creek in the twilight makes the wait worth while.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Fajitas were excellent and had lots of veggies - other than that everything else was average. Bean dip provided with chips was average as was the salsa choices at the salsa bar. Margaritas are terrible - stick with XX beer. Chicken enchiladas were not good - chicken was dry. Wife liked her meal. Service was slow.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ole's Guacamoles also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Ole's Guacamoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole's Guacamoles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.