We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Get Much Better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Que Sera

Que Sera
400 East State Street, Black Mountain, NC
(828) 664-9472
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't Get Much Better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We are Charleston residents and have many fine restaurants from which to choose. Que Sera rivals our best as far as food preparation. (small and cozy atmosphere along with very good service) The friendly owners take pride in using fresh local ingredients and the food reflects their choices. We enjoyed a delicious dinner--husband had halibut accompanied with spinach souffle and potato cake while I had a tasty salad and the BEST baked oysters with a variety of toppings. We could not resist sharing the homemade peach cobbler with vanilla ice cream and a superb pineapple and coconut icebox pie. Both were generous portions and exceeded our expectation. We returned several days later for the reasonably priced Sunday brunch and were not disappointed. Add Que Sera to your agenda (res recommended) and enjoy a GREATdining experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    16
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir, NC, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Black Mountain, NC Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is a fairly small restaurant with a wonderful chef/owner who really knows how to prepare outstanding meals. The atmosphere is very welcoming and you will find many locals eating there. It is really a hidden gem! Don't miss Que Sera when you are in the area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebo, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“This is a KEEPER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I had passed Que Sera many times, but had never stopped in. My wife and I took a flyer based upon the Tripadvisor reviews when friends of ours came to visit. We were not disappointed with the outcome. While the outside would not indicate fine dining, the inside certainly provides an environment of achievement. All four of us were more than satisfied with our entrees. I had the scallop special and would say that they were prepared with expertise. These were the best scallops that I have ever had in a restaurant. I would certainly recommend Que Sera and we will return many, many times.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband and I were staying in Black Mountain for our honeymoon when some friends who live in SC bought us a gift certificate as our wedding gift. They told us just to go to the restaurant and give our names and we would be taken care of. They were right. The restaurant is nothing to look at from the outside, but it's very quaint and cozy on the inside. We were greeted by a friendly server right away, and we felt like we were getting special treatment. Everything from the appetizer to our bottle of wine was perfect. The chef even came out an congratulated us on our wedding. This is a place we definitely want to go back to when we go visit again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Soooo good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We went here on the advice of Nancy at the Inn Around the Corner. What a great choice. The food is unique and delicious. My favorite was an appetizer that was a take on a simple Caprese salad. They mixed it up by adding corn, limas, bacon and fried okra. I know that it sounds odd, but it was delicious! You may need reservations, so call ahead! Well worth it!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Que Sera also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Que Sera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Que Sera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.