We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order the Red Fish Anna! Scrumpcious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Que Sera

Que Sera
400 East State Street, Black Mountain, NC
(828) 664-9472
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Mooresville
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Order the Red Fish Anna! Scrumpcious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Traveling on businesss and used Trip Advisor to find a spot for dinner. Que Sera is a small local restaurant with great menu selections. With help from my waitress, I selected the Red Fish Anna which was a great choice - blackened red fish over asagio cheese grits with lump crabmeat sprinked over the fish. Wow! It was packed with flavor! There were many other selections which had some wonderful sounding combinations - several other fish choices as well as cuts of beef. Nice decor and candlelight, but still not too fancy for casual dress. When visiting Black Mountain, I would highly suggest trying this spot. Great service and wonderful food!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    16
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Always Delights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Hidden jewel with fabulous food and friendly atmosphere. This Montreat and Black Mountain resident favorite has great specials - all home made, fresh, and most sourced locally

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“coming to western carolina for food? drive to black mountain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We retired to Asheville a year ago and thus have tried most of the local restaurants. Que Sera's food is wonderfully gourmet and reasonably priced. The types and variety of the food is varied and creative and is as good or better than Asheville restaurants. Asheville restaurants always have long waits on the weekends. We dined on a Saturday evening at 5 pm and the restaurant gradually filled before we left at 6 pm. Jessica our server, was extremely attentive and very helpful in selecting among several hard to resist small plates. We were especially impressed with her discussion of the food's texture combination in helping us decide on which small plate to try. Carl the chef/owner talks with all the diners. Enjoy!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth a special trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Two different people recommended Que Sera to us while we were in the Asheville area. We decided to try it, and it was worth it. Don't be put off by the plain exterior. One look at the menu will tell you the food is gourmet. I had the special which was Sea Trout (different from mountain trout). My wife had the Veal Marsala. Everything was superb. Carl, the chef, will go out of his way to accommodate you and make sure you have an exceptional dining experience.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, great service, secret location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Go to this restaurant if you are anywhere in North Carolina! Make the trip it is worth it. Run by a well known chef and his wife, these folks know how to cook great local food at a New York Level!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Que Sera also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Que Sera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Que Sera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.