We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip Back In Time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Cap

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Captain's Cap
670 Park St, Belmont, NC 28012-2728
704-825-4103
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 40 Restaurants in Belmont
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Trip Back In Time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Pros: Good Food, Very Reasonable Prices
Cons: Dated Decor, Standard Fare

I stopped here with a colleague for dinner on a recent trip. Our initial impression was one of surprise - stepping into the restaurant feels like a trip back in time; it invoked memories of a 1970's or 1980's era restaurant for both of us.

The food was very reasonably priced, with entrees in the $10 range. I had a broiled fish that I found was quite good. My colleague had scallops which were only average. The hush puppies served with the meal were well done - and there aren't many places that still serve these nowadays.

Our entrees included the salad bar; it was fairly basic but still provided a nice salad to go with the meal. Our waitress was attentive to our needs, and boxed a dessert to go.

The register at the checkout has a nice assortment of candy and gum, so those with kids might want to be careful not to stand in line to pay with the kids; otherwise you might be getting second dessert ;-)

While it's hard to recommend this location for a business meal, it's a great family restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    12
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good seafood in a comfortable setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Captain's Cap has a good selection of food, the waitresses are great and call you by name after you've been there a few times, and it has a salad bar that is included with meals.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmers Branch, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Selection Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Whole Fried Flounder, Onion Rings, and Salad Bar is a lot to like. others at the table picked their way through four varieties of Fried Shrimp, three choices of potato, and the salad bar.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Home cooking style of seafood at It's best.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Went here because it had good tripadvisor reviews and was within walking distance of the Holiday Inn Express. We were pleased wither the home style country seafood. Staff was friendly and attentive. We would go hear again when in the area.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service awesome, food average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Fast food seafood is really the tag line. Plastic plates and average food. I had the broiled tilapia and scallops that were cooked well and without a ton of fat but they were both spiced by an average non tasty blend. The waitstaff was extremely cordial and efficient. I would go back if passing it but wouldn't go out of my way.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Cap also viewed

 

Been to Captain's Cap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Cap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.