We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beech Mountain

Beech Mountain
403-A Beech Mountain Parkway, Beech Mountain, NC 28604
828-387-9283, 800-468-5506
Improve this listing
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: All-season activities abound at this mountain resort area: skiing, tubing and snowboarding in the winter; hiking, fishing and biking in the summer.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Beech is a great place to ski! Because of the elavation, it has the most snow and usually very good conditions. The staff are wondeful and very helpful. Everyone we came in contact with was friendly and wanted us to have a good time. It is expensive to eat there, so you may want to bring a lunch, but other than that, I would highly recommend Beech Mountain! We go every year and will continue to drive past Sugar to Beech!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    41
    16
    15
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“my son loved skiikng here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was my 1st time skiing so I stayed in the practice area all afternoon. It was end of season so the prices could not be beat. The guy at the beginner conveyor was extremly nice and helpful and I watched as he helped everyone tat was having issues falling and stuff and he never got in a bad mood dealing with the public..Extremly good service there. Will return next year

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Southeast skiing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Folks are friendly here, and the place has a laid back, very casual feel. You'll find everything you need, but no luxuries. They do seem to take snow-making seriously, which is important in the Southeast!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH CAROLINA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Husband enjoyed skiing there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

It had snowed for days so he had great ski conditions with the fresh snow on top of their man made snow. They also made more man made snow in addition to the "real snow".

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great ski conditions...worse food EVER!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We visited Beech Mtn on Sun 3/3/13 for the 1st time with our 2 kids who were first time skiers. Ski conditions and fresh powder were amazing. Some chair lifts were closed which was disappointing since we paid so much to ski and were just there for 1 day. The ski school staff were excellent and our kids were on the Blue hills by the end of the day! However, the lodge and food at the lodge are horrible and VERY expensive. They were out of everything- soft pretzels, chili, pizza. Didn’t anyone plan for one of the best ski weekends of the season!? What they did have - disgusting cheeseburgers, processed liquid cheese were barely edible. It was 50.00 for 2 French fry baskets, 2 chicken finger baskets and 2 drinks! Those prices are worse than Disney or Ritzy hotels! I don't mind paying for food-as long as it is somewhat edible. This place needs a major facelift and reorg. There is a lot of potential here to make money if they would just put some time and thought into it. Next time, we will bring our own lunch or eat our lift passes instead. Also, it would be nice if they provided you with a trail map when you spend 126.00 on lift passes but they didn’t.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beech Mountain also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Beech Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Beech Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beech Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.