We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpen Restaurant and Bar

Alpen Restaurant and Bar
700 Beech Mountain Pkwy, Beech Mountain, NC 28604
828.387.2252
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

From the exterior, thought the menu would be 'bar food' - no burgers on the dinner menu. Food was great but a bit pricey. Didn't get to enjoy the view due to the weather.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food and view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We ate here once and the food was excellent and so was the service. We were outside and some elk were in the yard grazing, so we had a dinner and a show.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Killer Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Good selection of adult beverages...outdoor dining is best...wonderful views and deer that wander about the grounds. Food is a little over-priced and inconsistent...but that said...it should not dissuade someone from stopping in and enjoying time out on the outdoor patio and deck.

Relaxing and peaceful ...with a n9ice glass of wine and the killer views.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Loved that there was a bar within the restaurant and that it was under the same roof as the hotel. There is also a patio with great views.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Atmosphere is old mountain inn. My steak was perfect.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This place was an interesting find. While some of the place could use a facelift, I really felt this place was unique. There was a local flavor of personalities at the bar that felt really appropriate. I ordered food to go and they were happy to accommodate me. Mostly though, my trout was very nice but my steak, a large filet, was perfect. It was a very good cut of meat. It made my night. If I had to say I would definitely go back.

The only thing i will again mention is the need to renovate. I really wish they would take a hint and redo things to serve the customer better. When you walk in you see a wall and do not know where the bar is until asking. Open it up a bit. Also what's with all the tvs in the bar?? It is nice to check scores but leave the sports bar to the sports bars. They should not be the focal point in a place like this.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpen Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Beech Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Beech Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Beech Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Beech Mountain, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Alpen Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpen Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.