We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beaufort Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaufort
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaufort Inn
Save
You added Beaufort Inn to your Saves list
101 Ann St, Beaufort, NC 28516   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beaufort
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Convenient to Front Street - easy access to all restaurants, sightseeing tours/boats, shops within walking distance. Directly on the water, great to come by boat as well. Extremely friendly owners and staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaufortInnNC, Manager at Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Beaufort. We look forward to seeing y'all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    65
    20
    5
    13
See reviews for
43
115
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Driving in checking TripAdvisor, I was reading the reviews and came upon mostly positive ones, however, I read ALL of them to get the overall viewpoint. In April a guest of the Beaufort Inn stated, " The bed spread was that thin, synthetic old kind with a plastic-y feel to it that everyone always reminds you can't be washed... (still finding these things in a hotel is a pet peeve of mine - there is no reason these gross old things should still be used) However, easy enough to throw on the floor upon entry and never touch again during your stay.
a thin foam-like blanket and sheet,
The Wifi was ok, but the signal would fade in and out periodically requiring the occasional re-connection."

The Manager replied with, "We understand that during your stay it was raining and the internet was not working at its best- sometimes the weather here on the coast affects our connections for some reason, however we are adding on Monday a second box to our internet that will increase connections speeds and allow more guests to use it, so this should fix our internet from Okay to Great! :) The bedspreads, we have been in the works for the past few months on deciding what to do to create some change, more modern bedding, that would also give guests peace of mind on the cleanliness, so we are moving towards the tripple sheeting era. We will post pictures online once this is complete this week, so keep checking."

Having read that and feeling EXACTLY the way that guest did about the ugly gross bedspreads in old motels.... and needing internet access, it APPEARED as if the Manager was getting right on it.....and since that was all written in April and it was now June 13th, I felt the problem was solved and we would be happy guests. This was not to be. I had read in TripAdvisor that there was a AAA discount but when I inquired upon check-in I was told, "we're not offering any discounts this week." OK. That's strange. We should have left then.

Those old un-washable bedspreads are still on the beds, the wifi did not work well, went in and out. The sheets were literally threadbare, the blanket was those old foamy ones and had some stains on it. So, all the comments from the Manager about those two things being corrected was simply lip service for future unsuspecting guests. Don't believe any of it. There was mildew on the shower curtains, it smelled musty, While we were in the dining area the following day, a woman was checking out and obviously was annoyed about the internet issues and reported it. The clerk said they are "working on it." Upon check-out I told the clerk about the poor internet connection and was told, "we're working on it." You can get internet service in New Guinea so "working on it" for 3 months really doesn't cut it.

We travel frequently, stay in all kinds of hotels and motels, we are satisfied if it is CLEAN and feels relatively updated with some care put into the rooms, and some sincere customer service, The Beaufort Inn does not supply any of that. It is mediocre at BEST and for the price, you can stay at a Hilton and have superb customer service and crisp, new clean triple sheets with a stellar room for half the price in some areas. Keep on looking around, you can find a much better deal and with better service too. I do not recommend this place at all. And, it just doesn't feel good, there is something 'off' about it.

Room Tip: My Tip is don't stay in any of the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaufortInnNC, Manager at Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
We do appreciate your feedback and are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

However, since we have installed a second router we have had very few problems, and those problems seem to be connected with individual devices (always Apple or Kindle products). We do urge our guests to bring their devices downstair and we might be able to help find a solution to the problem.

The New bedding is available currently in six rooms, which are all of our third floor queen rooms. We are always a work in progress and are slowly updating. As being a small hotel, we do not have the means as large chain hotels to do a complete change all at once, and have been extrememly busy this season, but hope to complete more rooms this summer. It took us a bit of time to get the right product, and the right look we wanted, but the new product is trippled sheeted.

For AAA discounts we will give them anytime except during holidays and special events which we always state when displaying we offer the discount. Your stay was during a major week long Fishing Tournament that is a highly popular event in which we do not offer the discount.

We hope that you do try us again, and urge that if you have a internet problem that you come to the front desk and one of the girls will try our best to help you, and try to find a solution to the problem, and will try to get you into a room with a Queen Bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Beaufort Inn for the first time last August. Overall it was a good experience, but the second trip was even better. This time we brought along our grown son and daughter in law and we all stayed in a two bedroom suite costing $278 per night. The room was nice, with a full kitchen, nice TV's, and of course, the wonderful view. The sleeper sofa is as comfortable as a sleeper sofa can be. We did bring a mattress pad from home and that made a big difference. The free breakfast, with the breakfast pie, danish, and fresh fruit was a hit with each member of my family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaufortInnNC, Manager at Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your second visit very much. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agua Dulce, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here two separate days while we were "ferry hopping" the Outer Banks. Great price and great location. Had really nice rooms on the water and took advantage of the private patio with 2 rocking chairs. Loved watching the water activity of fishing boats, tour boats, and pleasure boats. The hot breakfast was a special treat. The breakfast pie must be a family secret...a delicious start for the day. Easy walk into town for activities. Be aware....the Inn is close to the draw bridge...so the sirens do go off when the bridge is raised. Not a problem for us...did I say we LOVE the water?!?!?

Room Tip: Spring for the extra couple of bucks and get a room on the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaufortInnNC, Manager at Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and loved the water. We look forward to you staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I actually was in town end of April 2013 and asked local for a nice place to stay. The Inn was strongly recommended and I see why...It was exactly what I needed and I was charmed by it's setting. I was little worried being a female traveling alone arriving after 9:00 ---- after stepping out of my car I felt quite safe.
My room was on the waterfront & I even enjoyed a walk on the pier with the nice view accompanied by the moonlight:)
Hospitality was wonderful and their breakfast was excellent. I was impressed with lthe Inn's location being convenient to food & shopping as well as short walk to front street. The Inn was a pleasant place for me that one night and I later found myself driving back within 2 weeks for a repeat experience.
I was happy with my choice and will be back again soon.

The only recommendation from my stay would be maybe possibly updating the rooms with brighter colors & furnishings maybe THEME rooms... That would be awesome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaufortInnNC, Manager at Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
We are glad that your enjoyed your stay with us here, and that you felt instantly safe. We are in the process of updating our bedding to something more modern. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just came back from a wonderful visit in the most interesting town called Beaufort North Carolina. If you haven't been here yet you are missing somewhere special. The historic old houses with the lovely harbor that is teaming with wildlife. We watched dolphins swimming and wild mustangs grazing on the shore from our waterside dinner table. The highlight of our visit though was meeting Katie. She was the proprietor of The Beaufort Inn and just a lovely and sweet lady. She made us feel truly like old friends and we hated to leave. So if you're lucky enough and have the chance to visit Beaufort , North Carolina stay at The Beaufort Inn you won't be sorry you did.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaufortInnNC, Manager at Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stayed with us here in Beaufort, and glad that you enjoyed talking with the owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This independent Hotel was a great choice for us a recent trip to Beaufort for business.
The Good:
The location is excellent, it is an easy walk to front street for the restaurants, the North Carolina Maritime Museum (a must see - and its free!) and shops. The Inn is right on the water, and even though we had a "side" room, we still had a great view of the water from our balcony. (other reviews said the side view was not good - but i completely disagree. While it does directly face the parking area and trees, the entire right side is water, and the parking area is beautifully landscaped. Its totally fine.) The room was a steal at 89 dollars per night, but if you are willing to spend a bit more you can have a full water view. The hotel has a fitness room and a large, outdoor hot-tub for guests. We did not take advantage of it, but there was continental breakfast every morning in an "old seaman's style" dining area with a fireplace - it did feel a bit dated, but very cozy. The staff was friendly, and again, at this price it was great. Bed was comfortable, room was clean. We did not have our room cleaned during our four day stay because we were barely in the room and had computers and other electronics that we didn't feel like having to lock up, but I have no reason to believe that there would have been any issues. The towels were nice, and they even left out a dark washcloth specifically for eye-makeup. New flat-screen TV, mini fridge, Iron and coffee maker were all in good condition.

The not so good:
The rooms are quite dated. The furniture, carpet, wallpaper was all probably from the 1980's in a colonial revival style. The bed spread was that thin, synthetic old kind with a plastic-y feel to it that everyone always reminds you can't be washed... (still finding these things in a hotel is a pet peeve of mine - there is no reason these gross old things should still be used) However, easy enough to throw on the floor upon entry and never touch again during your stay. The pillows were really uncomfortable, but we were glad to discover the two extra in the dresser bottom drawer because the bed really needed more than one pillow per-person. Because the plastic bedspread was immediately cast off the bed, that left only a thin foam-like blanket and sheet, leaving us constantly adjusting the temp in the room as it was cold and rainy during our stay. The bathroom was clean, however the shower head was so low and the tub so high off the ground that showering for 2 6 -oot tall people was a bit difficult. Also, we had a maintenance issue in that our bathroom door would not close as the door handle was broken. We decided not to deal with the issue until checkout as we didn't want to have maintenance people disturbing us, but we informed the management upon checkout and hopefully it will be fixed before the next guests. The Wifi was ok, but the signal would fade in and out periodically requiring the occasional re-connection. The Ironing board cover could stand to be replaced. Could hear neighboring room through our bathroom, and could hear walking around from the floor above us. Nothing that disturbed our sleep or would be considered loud or annoying.

Overall - i would absolutely stay at this hotel again. It was by no means a luxury hotel, but the rooms were clean, spacious and had a great view. The hotel staff was nice, they had good amenities, and the location in town is really perfect. Best of all, the price is very affordable and, for what it is, it was a great choice for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaufortInnNC, Manager at Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Beaufort, and we thank you for your feedback.

Addressing some of the "not so good" in your review, we would like to give you some good news.
We understand that during your stay it was raining and the internet was not working at its best- sometimes the weather here on the coast affects our connections for some reason, however we are adding on Monday a second box to our internet that will increase connections speeds and allow more guests to use it, so this should fix our internet from Okay to Great! :) The bedspreads, we have been in the works for the past few months on deciding what to do to create some change, more modern bedding, that would also give guests peace of mind on the cleanliness, so we are moving towards the tripple sheeting era. We will post pictures online once this is complete this week, so keep checking. For the pillows and the shower heads, that is still a work in progess but it is in progress albeit slow.

We look forward to your next visit and to see how you like our new updates as we continue to change. Hope to see you soon!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaufort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort Inn

Address: 101 Ann St, Beaufort, NC 28516
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beaufort Inn is a first class facility with standard rooms and suites, meeting rooms, exercise room, a large outdoor hot tub, and wireless internet. A complimentary breakfast is served in a very attractive dining room adjacent to the lounge where guests can sit and read, or just relax. Come by boat. Boat slips are available to rent nightly or on term rentals. Guests will enjoy rooms with private balconies with rocking chairs and weekend refreshments in the dining room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Beaufort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaufort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.