We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Front Street Grill at Stillwater

Front Street Grill at Stillwater
300 Front St, Ste 5, Beaufort, NC 28516-2168
252-728-4956
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 37 restaurants in Beaufort
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Kure Beach, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Had a salad with tuna added...hubby had tuna tacos...very delicious..priced right. our waitress Teather (has a twin sis Heather) was VERY friendly and provided all kinds of tips and ideas where to go and what to see... Recommend highly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    63
    57
    21
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great view, very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our party of four had lunch at the Front Street Grill in Beaufort. The very best part of the experience has to be the view. We had our choice to be seated indoors, or on a covered porch area (semi-outdoors), or on a dock under umbrellas. We chose the last because we love sitting right on the water. From our table you could see a couple of the wide horses grazing on Shackleford Island and boats of all kinds drifting slowly by.

The food was very good - not a "5", but a good solid "4". Around the table we had the oyster po-boy, crab cake melt, oysters Rockefeller, and fish & chips. All items appeared to have been prepared fresh, to order - nothing done in advance.

Service could have been some better, but was quite adequate for lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good food with a better view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was our third visit in two years. We normally make the rounds in Beaufort and keep front street in our rotation. The service is usually a bit strained. I'm not sure but it would seem there is an air of uptightness. Despite that, the views are great of the water. The food is always what we are expecting- not many surprises good or bad. There are a mixture of locals and travelers in attendance but mostly regulars. I wish I could say something over the top but its just not happening there. We will keep it in our rotation however.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband, son, & I just had a delightful evening at Front Street Grill. We got a table outside by the water on a beautiful August evening. We had 3 entrees: shrimp & grits, a specialty cheeseburger, & goat cheese salad with cranberries and walnuts. All three dishes were delicious and the service was excellent. With drinks, the bill was $88. It was a little expensive, but we thoroughly sitting outsid with such a great view and felt that the evening was worth the cost. We definitely will return to Front Street Grill.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, NC
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We visited Front Street Grill last Saturday. We sat outside and enjoyed a nice view of the water and a bit of a breeze.

Service was quick and our server was pleasant. She made some good recommendations.

My wife went for the Crab Cakes, two nice sized crab cakes with jasmine rice, sweet pickle tartar, smoked-bacon corn sauté. They were pretty good but had a fair amount of filler.

I had one of the specials. Blackened Mahi served over potatoes with fresh veggies on the side. It was perfectly prepared and the blackening was spicy without being salty. Very nice!

We'll be back when visiting the beach!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Front Street Grill at Stillwater also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Front Street Grill at Stillwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Front Street Grill at Stillwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.