We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, Bad Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Front Street Grill at Stillwater

Front Street Grill at Stillwater
300 Front St, Ste 5, Beaufort, NC 28516-2168
252-728-4956
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 38 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, Bad Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We visited Memorial Day weekend, and while I recognize that it was a busy weekend and we had a medium sized group of 6, the service was pretty terrible. The poor hostess looked like she was on her own and ended up bussing tables instead of working with the guests. Tables remained dirty and empty for upward for 15 minutes while impatient guest waited.

Luckily, the food was excellent, which made our visit bearable. The server, however, brought out a side dish that was not ordered, because they apparently ran out of the original dish. Instead of asking which replacement dish we would like, he simply picked one and did not offer to bring a menu or for a new dish to be chosen until I suggested he do so.

I would try it one more time just to make sure I didn't just hit them on an off night, but I'll also be sure to call early and make a reservation. (We tried to make a reservation this time, but they said they weren't taking any more at that time.)

I do have to say the view is beautiful and I can see how it would be a nice romantic getaway if the service improved.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    84
    28
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Everyone was friendly and strived to provide excellent service, which they did. The food tuna was excellent and the wine paired quite nicely with the tuna and tasted more expensive than it was. The amaretto cheesecake, made in-house, was one of the best cheesecakes I have ever had. The bartender quite was pleased to make me a drink he had never heard of and did a good job of it. All of this good food and beverage was served while we watched the sun descend over the harbor while the light wind created a sparkling jewels of small waves. Make me wish I did not live 145 miles away. Most importantly, we eat at the Front Street Grill most times we visit the area and this experience was typical.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Food was good but we left hungry...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

ONE soft-shell crab for what they charged? This is a nice restaurant, more so if you are looking for a well-stocked bar and some decent wines. My wife and I didn't find a restaurant that compares with our usual get-away spot in Southport, NC.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Hidden surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you walk on the stree you will hardly notice this restaurant, except if you pay attention to a blackboard they place almost on the sidewalk.
Once you go inside you will notice a refined atmosphere with an incredible view. There is also the possibility of sitting outside or at the bar right in between.
The service is very nice and efficient and the dishes are very tasty, but on the small side for the price they charge.
All in all it was a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“"Disenchanted"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I drove 2 hours for a great meal and an "enchanted evening" out of town. We ordered the special, grilled grouper w/grilled asparagus over a bed of Jasmine rice. The rice was more like a teaspoon, and the asparagus - not grilled and only approximately two sprigs. The grouper - very very small portion. Inquired about bread and it was served cold with what appeared to be some type of butter? Cost for this trio - a whopping $33 - NOT WORTH THE PRICE. We ordered two appetizers, one glass of wine (very small glass) and tea - $99.44. When we questioned specifically the price of the "special" we were told, "Well, you know, it's Memorial Day weekend" whatever that means. While the restaurant overlooks the water, the ambiance in comparison to the price of our experience at this establishment - just not worth it. We would not recommend this restaurant for dining - only cocktails (which are a bit pricy, too!) The staff really did not seem to have knowledge of the menu and really could not make any recommendations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Front Street Grill at Stillwater also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Front Street Grill at Stillwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Front Street Grill at Stillwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.