We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inlet Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaufort
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inlet Inn
601 Front St, Beaufort, NC 28516   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Beaufort
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Charming place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Cozy old fashioned hotel in charming location. Offered spacious and nicely decorated room, although the bathroom needed a little brush up. Front desk welcoming and extremely helpful when needed. All in all a more than pleasant stay. Worth a stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    58
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
29
82
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

The hotel has spacious rooms, ones on the 3rd floor could easily accommodate the family of 5. However, since the balconies and the view are the best feature I would definitely advise getting a smaller room with a balcony. Furniture and decor is old, and bedspreads looked like they have around for a while. The fact that much of the room/bathroom had chips, rips, scraped and various damages made the room look uninviting. Upon check in we found a crawling cockroach in our room, which pretty much killed any desire to use a coffee maker. We loved sitting on the 3rd floor balcony, off the common area ( where the continental breakfast is prepared) but the first night we crossed paths with 3 other roaches ( not pretty). That sort of killed our desire to partake in the offered breakfast, which was prepacked tasteless carbs anyway ( there are couple coffee shops and breakfast places 1 minute walk, much better even if not free). Person at the front desk was not concerned about the roaches ( yes, I know they are palmettos, aka water bugs…still cockroaches) and said they even they spray they cannot get rid of them. We spent 3 weeks in the hotels of the coastal south and had no problems with bugs elsewhere. Whatever they are doing it is not stopping the infestation. Now, the staff was super nice, hotel pretty clean otherwise and location to explore Beaufort unparallel. Evenings on the balcony listening to the live music drift in from the local restaurants and the island of mustangs just a little boat ride away may make it all worth it. He hotel did have unique charm and If this place is ever renovated it would be a gem. BTW, rent bikes…so much fun!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghotio, Owner at Inlet Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
The palmetto bugs (yes they are in the roach family but not cockroaches) are a problem throughout Beaufort -- and most of the coastal South. They can and do get into everything from the lowly shack to the two million dollar home on Front Street. These guys live outside but because they can both fly and run very fast they occasionally get on our walkways or into a guest room. Our guests naturally like to open the doors to enjoy the view and the sea breeze. The palmettos naturally take this opportunity to come in for a vist. Their presence has nothing to do with cleanliness or housekeeping. We and our exterminator do our best to keep them out and most are found on their back with their dying feet toward the heavens. However, they don't die instantly and occasionally a guest has the unfortunate opportunity to see one on the run. We appologize for this and certainly do everything we can to keep it from happening. So, sightings of live ones are rare, but regretably, they do happen in spite of our best efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

The Inlet Inn is a wonderful inn located in the heart of Beaufort and within walking distance of restaurants and dining. We traveled with our 9 and 11 year old children working on our family "Bucket List Tour" to see all the North Carolina Lighthouses and climb the ones that were open to climbing. We had stayed at a very low rent location the previous night so we were ready for a night or two in a location that was up to our normal cleanliness standards. (Hey, even bad places add to a family experience.) The Inlet Inn was clean, bright, well-decorated and the staff was nice. We loved the landscaping, it was so peaceful and hidden even though it was on the waterfront. We were lucky to get a third floor room with two doubles. My kids wanted to sleep in the large window seat overlooking the sound. They sat there every moment we were in the room. They were able to watch the wild horses on Carrot Island, spotted dolphins and generally enjoyed all the boating activity that was going on around us. Strangely enough, the highlight of our stay there was the tame squirrel, Scooby that ate sunflower seeds from both of my kids while they each took photos of him with their DSi's. Now that made a cute family video. The breakfast of toasted bagels and muffins was delivered promptly. The bathrooms could have used a better shower head but everything was clean and comfortable. Lots of pillows and fresh linens. Parking was shaded and accomodating. Staff was gracious. Our only regret is that we couldn't get a second night. It was also the same price that we paid the night before at the run, down dump, with bad matresses, loud music til 1:00and drunken people hanging out by our window talking loudly til 1 am and before 6 am-but that's another post for another place :-)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

Our room was very damp and the dehumidifier was deafening. The A/C was also extremely loud. The sink was cracked and the bedspread looked like it was from the 1980s. Despite hanging up our towels, housekeeping removed them and failed to replace them. When I went to the front desk to get a replacement, the staff person was unapologetic about the inconvenience. Still, the hotel is located centrally.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed here several years ago and were very pleased, so, for our 3rd anniversary, we chose to stay here again with our 8 month old son in tow. The Inn was even more charming the 2nd time around. Larry and Joy were very kind and helpful in booking our stay and Crystal was so pleasant to work with once we checked in - excellent service.

We stayed in a waterfront room on the 3rd floor because the balcony rooms were all booked. Though no balcony - the ladies next door set rocking chairs outside on the spacious landing that overlooks the property and enjoyed cocktails. There is also a lovely patio below and a Widow's Walk on the 3rd floor to enjoy. Our room had a window seat with a row of windows that offered a gorgeous view of the Beaufort waterfront - my husband enjoyed reading his book on the cushioned seat with the windows open.

We had two queen sized beds that each had 4 pillows - a plus for us. My husband usually has trouble sleeping in hotel beds but we both found these to be comfy. Our room had all the usual ammenities and was very quaint with lots of space - we set up our pack-n-play between the beds and still had plenty of room to move around.

This is an "Inn" not a B&B so don't expect a big breakfast, however, it was nice to have a light meal (bagel, muffin, & OJ) before we began our day. The location is perfect - within a few steps of fabulous restaurants, outdoor establishments that offer entertainment, and wonderful coastal shops - all with a view of the beautiful Beaufort waterfront and marina.

This isn't a cushy, plush "hotel" - it's a cozy and friendly, beautiful little Inn that met our needs to a tee and we look forward to our next visit! PS - Check out Front St. Grill at Stillwater - divine the 2nd time around, too!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

Not a chain hotel. That's both a good thing and a bad thing.

First, the good:
-- Saw wild horses on deserted island across channel from the hotel.
-- Saw pair of dolphins playing IN the channel.
-- Great dock views from balconies attached to second-floor rooms.
-- Rocking chairs on those balconies are a NICE touch.
-- Breakfast (muffins/bagels/juice) delivered to the room for free.
-- Great hospitality (front desk has wine opener and wine glasses).
-- Rooms are spacious (ours had king bed, couch, fridge, etc.)
-- Rooms have AC, heat and dehumidifiers.
-- Cable TV with ~50 channels and HBO.
-- Computer in lobby. Verizon 3G cell phones worked in room.
-- Boat tours, restaurants, museum all within a few blocks' walk.
-- Nice outdoor courtyard, lit at night, that also has rocking chairs.

And the bad
-- Our tube TV was dying (bad color, even after toying with settings)
-- Bathroom was spartan, poorly lit and has loud exhaust fans.
-- King bed was nice. Mattress was much harder than expected.
-- Decor is dated (~10 years old), but cheerful and in good condition.
-- No exercise room. No pool. No beaches nearby (take a boat trip).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Having a bagel and muffin brought to the room (you make your own coffee) is nice, but hardly qualifies the Inlet Inn as a Bed and Breakfast. The view from the large private balcony is delightful, as is the location in the quaint old riverfront town of Beaufort. You're directly across from the ferry dock and steps from several excellent retaurants. The room was large and very nicely appointed, but the bathroom was made for short people. I'm only 5'10" but had to stoop over to brush my hair as the lights over the mirror were only slightly above eye level. The staff was particularly pleasant and helpful, but wi-fi was only available in the office. The room needed drapes as the lights on the street outside kept the room light all night. The door stuck and was a bear to open and shut, and there was no inner security device on it. And then there were the ants... But in Beaufort there are just not many places to stay, and the Inlet Inn may be average, but it's clean and convenient, so in spite of the problems I'd recommend it if you plan a trip there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghotio, Owner at Inlet Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
We at the Inlet Inn appreciate all reviews, both positive and negative, and strive to have all customers satisfied and anxious to stay with us again and again. Just for clarification, we need to point out that the Inlet Inn is not a B&B. We are a 36 room hotel that offers a standard continental breakfast that is delivered to the guests room each morning. We may occasionally be found on the internet or elsewhere under the listing of B&B's but we do not advertize or promote ourself as a B&B. We are, though, a small privately owned hotel that offers what we think is the charm and service of a B&B but with the privacy and quiet comfort of a small hotel.
We certainly don't wish guest to be unhappy because they expected our inn to be a B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inlet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inlet Inn

Address: 601 Front St, Beaufort, NC 28516
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Beaufort
Also Known As:
Inlet Inn And Conference Center
Inlet Hotel Beaufort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inlet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inlet Inn to your Saves list