We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about location and view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inlet Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaufort
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inlet Inn
Save
You added Inlet Inn to your Saves list
601 Front St, Beaufort, NC 28516   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaufort
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“All about location and view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Located in the quaint part of Beaufort, NC with front balconies facing the marina and Carrol Island. Sitting on the balcony in a rocking chair watching the boats, water, and horses is the very best part of this Inn. The little shops on Front Street are a nice walk and some are interesting. The Ghostwalk was cool and walking the Old Cemetery is interesting. The Inn itself is a regular water front place with dehumidifies that create white noise if you want it (which I don't). You can tell they fight moisture issues constantly as understandable. The beds are hard. The breakfast of muffins, juice, and coffee is basic but nice. Staff is always pleasant.
The price I would say is based on location because the room could not do it alone. I stay here occasionally because I like the location and rocking on the porch but only when I will have time to enjoy the view because I do feel it is overpriced. A little lower on the price and I would go more often.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    67
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
33
96
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have stayed here for years and just gets better. So relaxing Just a neat place on the water front. Love this place and the owners are so accommodating. Can't wait for our next stay! Breakfast is good. The view is spectacular and you are within walking distance of every good thing in Beaufort.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Spent the weekend there recently and really enjoyed Beaufort. We had a ground floor waterfront room. It was clean and spacious but the carpet was stained, the room had a musty smell and the AC wasn't dehumidifying properly. There was also a very noisy dehumidifier in the room. We mentioned this to the front desk and they didn't seem very interested in trying to make it right.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was our first trip to Beaufort and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Easy walking distance to lots of restaurants and shopping, quiet, clean spacious room, friendly and helpful staff. The continental breakfast was a great plus. I'd come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Inlet Inn is a gem. Right on the waterfront, (but not on the beachfront) of one of North Carolina's most charming towns.. There are charming bars and cafes very close and you can easily walk to them. I found the staff friendly, and helpful.The room was clean and very spacious. The WiFi worked just fine for me, and there was no charge to use it.
All in all, this is a place I will go back to soon.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are facing the water, and the 3rd floor does not offer balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The location is excellent, the staff is very friendly. The room was large and had a balcony overlooking the waterfront. I liked the sink area separated from the toilet. Previous negative comments do not take into count this is a beach hotel not a Ritz Carlton!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

First stayed at the Inlet Inn in early 2000s and returned almost every year since then. Just returned from a long weekend and sad to say, the Inn is starting to look shabby in several areas. After walking with bare feet on the rug for an hour or so, my roomie noticed the bottom of my feet were black ! We then looked closer, and noticed that the carpeting was filthy. From then on, we made sure we never went barefoot even for a short trip to the bathroom. The ceiling of the third floor (top) room also had been haphazardly painted as if there had been a leak or something to that effect. Also, the cleaning staff neglected to make the beds twice during our stay...although they had provided clean towels etc... Finally, the ceiling fan would not work the last day of our stay. We had always previously enjoyed the Inlet Inn over the years, but the owner needs to take a serious look at the Inn and take advantage of the coming off-season in order to do some painting and general maintenance to keep the Inn's standards up. Carpet cleaning, a few coats of paint and general maintenance is a must. A few years ago, I would have given the Inn 5 stars, now I can't do that in good faith. Please don't be penny-wise and pound-foolish. Use the off-season to return the Inlet Inn to its prior glory. Thank you.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghotio, Owner at Inlet Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We'll be the first to agree that the Inlet Inn isn't for everyone. As a later reviewer points out, we aren't the Ritz. But we do regret when any guest has a less than satisfactory stay. Unfortunately for our carpets, all rooms at the Inn have outside entry -- which means you walk from the gravel parking lot and concrete walkways directly into our rooms. Therefore no long carpeted hallways to clean your shoes before you get to your room. The room carpets take a lot of abuse as a result of sand, grit and water that is tracked in. It is completely impractical to shampoo carpets after each guest because it takes a day to dry after cleaning. I do challenge anyone who says our carpets are "filthy". They are vacuum cleaned every day and shampooed on a regular basis. However, this does not ensure they will pass a white glove (or foot) inspection every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inlet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inlet Inn

Address: 601 Front St, Beaufort, NC 28516
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaufort
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Inlet Inn And Conference Center
Inlet Hotel Beaufort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inlet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.