We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE Clawson's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clawson's 1905 Restaurant

Clawson's 1905 Restaurant
425 Front St, Beaufort, NC 28516-2126
+1 252-728-2133
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 38 Restaurants in Beaufort
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Description: Have a question? Find our email address under restaurant info and we'll get back to you ASAP. Clawson's 1905 Restaurant & Pub is housed in 108-year-old brick building at the center of lively and beautiful downtown Beaufort, North Carolina.From Clawson's famous Seafood Bisque to crab cakes to rotating local seafood features, Clawson's food is always homemade. Deli meats are fresh sliced daily, and our 1/2 pound Angus Burgers are hand pattied every morning. Even our burger buns are baked fresh in house! Don't leave town without a quart of one of our homemade dressings or side items.Clawson's Pub, an extension of the restaurant, serves the same full menu and offers eight rotating beer taps and dozens of bottled options. Clawson's loves craft beer and features a North Carolina brewery each month year round. Join us for free beer tastings on the first Friday of every month. Clawson's strives to provide a fun, casual dining experience in a comfortable atmosphere. Call us today for reservations, or see our website for our daily features and draft beers.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“LOVE Clawson's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

What can I say, I just love Clawson's.

The atmosphere is great. The food can't be beat. The service is friendly. I never feel rushed, but never feel neglected.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    113
    50
    30
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Very nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place has a lot of history and you can see that by the decoration in each of the dining rooms, which are all different.
If you like these things, just spend the time walking arround the restaurant (all the way to the back) and you will not get disappointed.
Food is good and prices are reasonable.
It is located in the main touristic area of Beaufort.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just didn't work for us.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Simply put, the food was not worth the price. A friend had told me she thought it was just "OK", but we thought we would give it a try. I barely ate any of my dinner, the Bogue Banks pasta. It was bland, the shrimp was over cooked, and the pasta was rubbery.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Used to be better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Upon arrival, hostess looked bored and didn't even say hello. We told her how many and were informed it would be a few minutes because she just sat all her servers tables. As an afterthought she asked for our name so she could call us when we could sit down. A few moments later we were seated and greeted by a perky waitress. Although the restaurant was only about 1/3 full, it took quite some time for our food to come. You would think that it is still summer and they would be fully staffed? Then it took even longer to get the check, as our perky waitress chatted with every other table. The manager did come to check on us once and looked nervous to do so, hurrying to get away from our table and check on our drink refills. The food was mediocre, everything needed seasoning (guess they never heard of salt & pepper in the kitchen.) I think we gave it a fair shake with 5 of us eating fried shrimp, a burger, one of their "dirigibles", soup and a wrap. Just eh. Kind of a letdown. We have eaten here many times in the past and enjoyed it, but it seems old and tired now.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“An Annual Beach Tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We eat at Clawson's every year on our vacation on the Crystal Coast. We love spending time in Beaufort with its quaint shops and waterfront. Some of the yachts are amazing. You can always count on friendly service and good food at Clawson's. They have an extensive menu and the atmosphere is very unique. See you next year!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clawson's 1905 Restaurant also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Clawson's 1905 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clawson's 1905 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.