We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refreshingly ordinary bar in Beaumont.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal James Cafe

Royal James Cafe
117 Turner Street, Beaufort, NC
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 38 Restaurants in Beaufort
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
“A refreshingly ordinary bar in Beaumont.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

As a visitor from the UK let me state right away that I think that Beaumont is a fantastic little town. I love its quaintness and overall class. I like the twee cafes and the quality restaurants, and I enjoy having a beer in the Backstreet Pub. So where does the Royal James fit in among all this?

The great thing about the Royal James is that it doesn't try to fit in with the twee and the posh. It is what it is - which is a good bog standard bar that caters for ordinary folk, and as a particularly ordinary Scot it suited me down to the ground.

They serve food and it is what we in the UK would call bar grub as opposed to restaurant fare, which suited us perfectly during our visit as we didn't really want a full-blown meal. Our fried shrimp basket with some macaroni cheese bites fitted the bill perfectly and was very good value; and with friendly service we were more than happy with our visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset Village, Bermuda
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“A Greasy Joe's type of place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have eaten here a couple of times over the years. It has not changed..... but that said, we did go back as the small basic burgers are like those cholesterol stimulating burgers of old... plenty of grease & of course tasty ! Our latest Bacon, Blu Burger consisting of 1 bacon slice, two patties topped with a slice of blue cheese was like before very tasty. Dont look for loads of fresh salad stuff in there but at $4.99 it was good value. As others have said before --- if you are looking for top class healthy establishments this is not the place for you but if you want a couple of beers & a greasy but tasty burger of dog then this is your place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dive Joint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Have eaten here many times. Good cheeseburgers & Boar's Head sausage dogs. However, I have no idea how they pass local & state health inspections. The grill & tables look clean enough but the floors & bathrooms are horrible. Not too bad for a burger & beer, IF you can get pass those things.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyner, NC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Food was Good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

No 2 ways about it - this place is a dive. Not a real restaurant, just a dive bar that sells food. Was highly recommended to us for their burgers without telling us what kind of place it was. Cash only with a non-working ATM in the place. The restrooms shared a common wash basin between the 2 doors where I actually saw one of the staff rinsing out his hair. They advertise "the best burger in Beaufort" which doesn't say much for the rest of the burger joints in town. How do you have the best burger without having any lettuce on site and they charge extra for tomato. And I have had a much better burger, just not in Beaufort. They had multiple food specials listed on a board over the bar, half of which were unavailable in the middle of the afternoon. Service was very good, waiter was super friendly although he was also a little on the obnoxious side. Food wasn't bad but not worth going back for. Would I go back - not in a million years!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Locals and College Cheap Dive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

It is what it is…no pretense. Offers cheap burgers and beer with pool tables. No updates likely in decades. Not for any folks with issues with pristine cleanliness.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal James Cafe also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Royal James Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal James Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.