We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Salt

Old Salt
133 Turner Street, Beaufort, NC
(252) 728-2002
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 38 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located directly across from the Historical Society. Previous owners called it the Net House.
Hookerton, North Carolina
1 review
“Love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Our meals were outstanding. The desserts were insanely delicious. The people were so friendly, we felt like family by the time we left! Can't wait to go back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    28
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hall, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Grerat place to eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was one of the best places to eat in town. Butch was a great waiter - friendly & knowledgeable. All the food & sauces are made on premises & were excellent. The only problem was they are only open Thursday - Saturday. We left on Friday, so we only had one chance to eat there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Local, fun and funky...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is a casual place; go and sit in the bar. The staff is friendly, accommodating and efficient with a real down-to-earth attitude. If Butch is there, you'll also get good music being played on the sound system; not too loud for conversation. If you're in the bar, you might get that nice waitress who greets you like you come in every day! The staff doesn't mind if you want to "hang out." This is not your "gourmet" restaurant. This is simple food. And it's always fresh. In a "fish" town, it should be fresh, but that's not always the case in this town. If it's fried, it's fried right. Don't miss the onion rings with the house-made ketchup. The fried shrimp and flounder are always good, and they will lightly steam oysters for you if you ask. Beaufort is a "tourist" town for most of the year, and sadly some of the better restaurants here have lost sight of that in recent years. So, it's great to see a casual seafood place that is always consistent. Yes, for what it is, this restaurant gets an "excellent" rating.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“So good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We went here on tripadvisor recommendation. This was the best meal of our 4 day vacation. The food and sauces were amazingly fresh. I had a delicious shrimp taco which was a daily special. Hand cut homemade French fries. House made sauce and ketchup...YUM. Great service. Lots of choices in Beaufort but don't miss this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, North Carolina
1 review
“Best Food in Beaufort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I live in Beaufort and this is, by far, the best food in town! Always fresh and prepared just right, not greasy! Outstanding service. The desserts are the best anywhere! Give Old Salt a try. I promise you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Salt also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Old Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Salt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.