We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, and really good burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of FishTales - CLOSED

FishTales
242 W Beaufort Rd, Town Creek Marina, Beaufort, NC 28516
252-504-7263
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
north carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good, and really good burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Not fantastic, but for a tourist town, it's a very relaxed setting with decent food. I'm really torn between "good" and "very good" ... We really enjoyed that our dogs were welcome and the fries were really great too . . . We will definitely be back

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“So good, we went two nights in a row”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We had been to this restaurant when it was owned and operated by a previous owner (we knew it as the Sandbar). It has always had a great view at sunset and so sitting out on the porch was always a good option if it wasn't too windy and cool.

The new owners/ chef have done an excellent job here. The crabcakes were outstanding...some of the best we've ever had. There are few restaurants that have combined good food, drink, and service that would bring us back two nights in a row. But this one did. It's a little off of the beaten path, but the combination is worth it.

Check out the daily fresh catch specials. We had that as well but they aren't on the menu and depnds upon what is fresh and available.

Oh, and have the strawberry salad. The carmelized almonds are a real treat in this salad combination.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
2 reviews
“GREAT FOOD AND WONDERFUL TIME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We have been going to FishTales for some time now. The Tiki Bar is the best place in Beaufort to hang out have drinks, food , and just talk and meet new friends. This food is great, Best crab cakes around, You won't leave hunger like many places in Beaufort.
The burgers are the BEST!!!. They also offer a full menu if you wish, either upstairs in the restaurant or at the tiki bar. Staff is very helpful and freindly, owner is very nice , comes around and makes sure everything is ok.Prices average for area.
All I can say is DON'T MISS THIS PLACE when looking for a really good place to eat and enjoy youself.!!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path, but well worth the effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We've been going to the Tiki Hut....the outdoor venue at FishTales....for some time now, and while that is great, we've been missing the real treat....upstairs in FishTales. The food is fantastic, and there isn't a better view anywhere around. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable, and the Chef makes regular rounds to talk to diners.

Everything that I've tried has been beyond wonderful, but I have developed some VERY favorites. As a "fun" choice, I got the "Redneck Wrap".....and I've got to say, it way more than just fun....it's fantastic. It's melt-in-your-mouth rib meat and slaw in a wrap, with FF or fried sweet potatoes. A real YUMMM!

But, my real favorite is the Whiskey Ribeye. It's just too good for words!

This is definitely on my New Favorites list.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FishTales also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FishTales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.