We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at Sugartop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugartop Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sugartop Resort
Sugartop Resort, Banner Elk, NC 28604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Banner Elk
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice stay at Sugartop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here with a group of friends and had a nice ti me. We do wish that they offered more than just 1 queen and 2 twins and then a pull out. We had to decide who was getting what (6 adults...3 couples). That is all that offer from what I understand. The rooms come with a kitchen and 2 baths. We played games for hours at the dining table. It was more than enough for what we needed. I would stay again if it were not 3 couples and we had to choose how to sleep. It would be great for a family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Views were spectular, but thats all. NO parking. Must wait and take a shuttle to and from condo. Besides no parking they charge you $20.00 cash per night for a 2nd car.(met friends there) Found this interesting since you gave it to the security guard. and you still didn't park @ the condo. We called it beer money. Never actually saw the security guards (ALL 3) doing anything but hanging around the front counter. No beverages allowed in pool area. Nope, not even a bottle of water. The van (shuttle) was not equipped to carry ski equipment. They've been doing this for years and still VERY unorganized. Balcony was covered in several inches of ice. Not the condo's fault. No grilling on the balacony's so rule it out for your 4th of July picnic. Will choose someplace moe convenient and much more friendly next time.

Room Tip: Individual owned condo's depends if it's been updated since it was built in the 80's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Resort is located on the Tip Top of the mountain and is titled Sugar Top Resort.Resort is very clean and very nice.The service is very good.The rooms are clean and beatuiful.Nice indoor pool and work out room,sana.Location is good for many winter outdoor activites .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, North Carolina
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights on a Groupon certificate,and found the facility somewhat dated but not bad for the views from the room. I disliked the parking/shuttle service but it's not a deal breaker. I don't think we waited more than 5 minutes for the driver--just a nuisance. There seemed to be plenty of open spaces available,and while I can understand the shuttle during leaf season or busy holidays,it seems that if you're renting you should be able to drive and park. Also,other than vending machines,bring what you want to eat--there's not even a snack shop--you have drive down the 2 miles off the mountain for anything. My wife enjoyed the hot tub--had it to herself both days. As stated below these are privately owned condos,so you might want to pack paper products (TP-napkins, & soap /shampoo) things you expect at a hotel are not provided. Our unit did have a bottle of hand soap,and 2-- 1/2 rolls of TP and some dish soap,but yours may not so if you're coming stop at the Lowe's or Food Lion stores nearby to save you a drive back down the mountain. We ate at the Frontier BBQ on 105 just left at the shopping center about 1/4 mile on left heading toward Boone---pretty good BBQ and nice portions for a reasonable price(write-up separate). Room was clean,and it was very quiet,and the views of the mountains are great from any room. If you decide to go to Blowing Rock from here,do yourself a favor and drive to Boone & catch 321 to B Rock. Don't try to follow your GPS any other way or you'll regret it--don't ask me how I know this tip!If you're around this week-end the school at Banner Elk is presenting Showboat,and it's well worth the money--saw their rehearsal Monday night. Staff here was helpful and friendly--just didn't care for the shuttle parking when spaces for parking were available,and I paid to rent a condo.

Room Tip: The higher your room the better views of the mountains you will have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Ok..... to start, I like how people who post reviews use the term hotel and act as if Sugartop has control over the quality of the rooms. This is not the case. Sugartop is a condo homeowners association. All the units are individually owned and can be leased through private rental companies that have no affiliation with the association. If you had a problem with your unit, that is with the rental agency and condo owner you rented it from. Some owners have not changed a light bulb since 1983 and others have renovated there unit to a luxury suite. My experience with Sugartop was when I was in college. Years ago, a friend and I had the unique opportunity to monthly rent a older unit that was behind on hoa dues. It was the most amazing experience I have ever had. Its truly like living among the clouds. For those who criticize the security, the building was subject to much criticism when build because it obstructed the skyline. There for, special care is taken to who is allowed on the property. I find that something difficult to complain about. The amenities are very nice and clean and offer more than any competitive property. I will say however, the staff can be hit or miss. Parking is limited, BECAUSE ITS BUILT ON A MOUNTAIN TOP! So during busy periods, you might be required to park in a lower lot and shuttle to the top (I had to only twice in a year of living there) . I have no allegiance to Sugartop, in fact my buddy and I were eventually evicted for noise violations, and in hind site we deserved it. I now own a home on Sugar and encourage anyone curious about it to stay at this wonderful place. The building is an engineering marvel and there is not a better view in the blue ridge, bar none.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Sugartop condo needs updating with regards to rooms and staff. It was evident from the beginning. We waited 40 minutes at the gate to be able to drive up to the hotel and unload. I then was required to drive back down the mountain to park my car and catch the shuttle back up to the hotel. If you wanted to drop your family off, and then come back down, it was subject to whether or not there were people unloading and could take 30 to 40 minute wait time.
There is a pool and a hot tub, but dont expect the use of these facilities with any food or beverage in your possession. What a completely rediculous rule which I have never seen implemented at any facility. I can understand not allowing glass, but no beverages?
The staff was terrible, and it was perceived to be an intrusion to request anything from them at the front desk. Again, this was apparent from the beginning at the gate. The person at the gate was incompetent, and could not even explain the process to those of us waiting for 40 minutes. I found her replacement later in the week to be a downgrade in service even further. The gate is probably tired of listening to complaints on their process, but it is a service oriented business that they are in.
The rooms, I would assume are different from rental to rental, however the room we stayed in had a remote which did not work, the pull out couch was missing springs, which prevented someone from sitting or laying on a 1/4 of the pullout bed. Plumbing was very noisy, and the hot water did not last very long.
The views were incredible from the rooms and this was the highlight of the condo. I would not stay at this establishment again, and definitely would not recommend to any other person. There are many establishments and rentals available in the Sugar Mountain vicinity.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

#1 - Parking is ridiculous. You park your car a 1/2 mile down the mountain and wait (and wait) for a shuttle to pick you up. If you decide to ski...there is even more waiting around. You take the first shuttle to the parking lot, then wait for another one to take you down to the ski hill. It is really fun with -2 degrees and 50mph wind gusts. Have fun if the bus driver runs out of gas midway back up the hill.

#2 RUDE staff. The staff has no concept that they are actually working in the hospitality industry. By all means don't interupt them when they are playing solitaire on the front desk computer. No towels at the pool, you must call for your own shuttle and no paper products will be provided.

#3 Outdated and BROKEN: The hot tub was out of service, the pool was about 10 degrees too cold and they played funeral home type music constantly in the pool area. Did I mention this was straight out of 1985? The rooms were horrid, beds were concrete slabs, appliances were circa 1980 and there was a bad case of mold growing up the side of the bathroom wall.

I would much rather stay at a Motel 6. Do not waste your money here!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugartop Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugartop Resort

Address: Sugartop Resort, Banner Elk, NC 28604
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Banner Elk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugartop Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sugartop Resort to your Saves list