We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to go for Japanese.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Express

Tokyo Express
100 High Country Square, Banner Elk, NC 28604
(828) 898-4121
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 41 restaurants in Banner Elk
Cuisines: Japanese, Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This is the place to go for Japanese.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This is the only place to go for Japanese cuisine if you're in Banner Elk because the other restaurants don't serve Japanese food. The food is ok. Service is almost nonexistent. But If you are really craving those typical Japanese meals where they give you a fantastic cup of chicken broth with a slice of a mushroom, and a wonderful salad that consist of a few leafs of iceberg lettuce with a sliver of a carrot and some chewy meat and some rice. Let's face it we all just want to smother something with shrimp sauce. This is the place to go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    9
    4
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banner Elk, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a selection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Japanese or Vietnamese, either way, Tokyo will feed you good. and the staff will be sure you are happy with your selection. Nancy and Cindy are ALWAYS THERE, so you can count on a filling, great tasting meal everytime.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Love the Vietnamese Menu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

There is something for everyone on the menu! Hibachi grilled items & sushi too. Sushi was really priced well. We almost went back the second night too. The grandkids split one of the hibachi dinners and there was still food left over. Four adults and 3 grand kids ate for less than $80. Wine and beer only. Service could have been a little better. The waitress disappeared after the food came so we only had one round of drinks but the food was so good it didn't ruin the evening. Good thing we were in ski clothes it was a little chilly inside but we were eating late on a Sunday. We'll be back next ski trip.
They are in the process of changing name to Cam Ranh Bay.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banner Elk, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good, with the right service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I have been dining at Tokyo for years. Nancy, the owner, is very accommodating and sweet. I love the Vietnamese menu, it's one of a kind in Banner Elk. I'd recommend the angry dragon sushi roll (it's not too spicy) and the Bun Thit Nung & Chai Goi. Absolutely delicious. The Japanese menu is good as well. The only down fall of this place is the wait staff. The two young adults that wait tables here are inattentive and often rude. Sometimes the cooks are nice enough to wait on us when we are being neglected. When Nancy is not there we won't dine there without an extra hour or two to waste. There have also been some nice renovations to the place as well.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

the food is amazing. there is a lot of food on the plate. i wish it was a bit less money even though there is a lot of food. the servers where traditional outfits. the sushi is way to high($$).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Express also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Tokyo Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.