We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunn's Deli

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dunn's Deli
134 Main St W, Banner Elk, NC 28604
(828) 898-6731
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 42 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The food is great and fast, not your normal deli. My husband and I split the cavalier and we were not hungry when we left. The menu isn't huge but they have more than your normal deli We will be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    26
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banner Elk, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Last visit? probably yesterday and again next week.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Breakfast or lunch, Dunn's is my most regular stop. I call ahead and don't even ask what the daily special is, I just order it. Or if I've got time, I stiop in for my favorite brew while they make me one of their wonderful sanwiches. My favorite is the Avalanche, but sometimes I just have to have a Otten Burger (huge). They only use Boars Head Meats and they pile it on.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, just great sandwiches.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

LOVED the Beef Stack special! Friendly folks. Nothing fancy, just great sandwiches. Looks like it might be a fun hang-out for college kids at night.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Dunn's Deli -- done right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We put our list together of restaurants to visit in Banner Elk and this was one of them. The restaurant ambiance is simple, patio chairs and the whole feel has a college/homey family room feel. The food was fantastic! I ordered the Reuben and my husband had the Cuban. Both were grilled and warm and the meat tender. They also have gluten-free bread which was a plus! Dinn's Deli carries two beers on tap and a selection of bottled beers and wine -- all at great prices. Menu is vast, but not overbearing -- theres something for everyone! One of the best values in Banner Elk! My recommendation: if you are skiing, plan to bring some of their yummy food up the mountain. Cheaper and more delicious!! We will be back. PS: the Dunn's also own Perry Inn B&B which I can also highly recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Phenomenal, both for breakfast and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Try the Avalanche sandwich for lunch or dinner -- magnificent! Their breakfast options are also scrumptious. If I am ever passing near Banner Elk in the future, I will make sure to stop by Dunn's. We loved it so much we ate there twice in one day, so that should tell you something.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunn's Deli also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Dunn's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunn's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.