We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artisanal Restaurant

Artisanal Restaurant
1200 Dobbins Rd, Banner Elk, NC 28604-7798
828-898-5395
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Artisanal Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hwy 184
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Extraordinary dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The restaurant offers one of the best dining experiences any where. From its understated handsome, tasteful design to the bucolic setting, the impeccable service, wine list and excellent food, Artisanal is a world class dining experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    10
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Simply The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

After several dozen visits to Bill Green's spectacular Artisanal restaurant, with my wife and numerous friends, I remain convinced that it is among the best restaurants in the country!
I don't use this lofty descriptive lightly.
Artisanal is Very special. A magnificent barn-like building, beautifully appointed, uncluttered and welcoming. A menu that changes regularly, features local produce, fresh fish flown in daily, prime beef and a first class wine list, there isn't much more one could ask for.
It's worth going far out of your way to experience.
Clint Allen

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neptune beach, florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant anywhere in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I love the atmosphere, I love the staff, the wine selection and the food is the best I have eaten anywhere in the world, specializing in local sustainable produce. Fresh, delicious and every visit feels like a celebration

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“NC's Finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

...or maybe Eastern US's finest. We love this restaurant! Totally worth the 30 minute driving trip to get there (for us), this is a must-go venue. A beautiful building, warm welcome, delighful alfresco dining (in-season), outstanding menu, wine list, and service. What more could you want? Oh, a little romance? Book a table on the porch by the brook. A little privacy? Book tables 3 or 5 (the nooks by the bar). We have been at least 5 times since it opened in this location (used to be in a strip shopping center but the food was good even there). We agonize with every seasonal closing (October, this year) and rejoice when the staff returns (in May 2012?). We are foodies and give Artisanal highest marks!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We recently purchased a home in Banner Elk. As a celebratory dinner we went to Artisanal.
Beautiful restaurant and surroundings. Open and airy but not loud. Service and food amazing. Had a cowboy ribeye, aged, delicious. The foie gras appetizer equally as good, although portion small for the price. Restaurant does state a dress code, however I saw patrons coming in jeans, they may have been seated outside on the porch which had heaters as I never saw them in the restaurant. Jackets are suggested but my husband just wore a nice shirt and pants. Added up to a very expensive evening, might save for a special occasion or if someone else is picking up the tab. I believe they are closed certain times during the year due to the weather.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artisanal Restaurant also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Artisanal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artisanal Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.