We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewalls

Stonewalls
344 Shawneehaw Ave, Banner Elk, NC 28604
(828) 898-5550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Jacksonville, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I would like to thank John for making amends to my last review. He could not have been any nicer. So I'm glad to go back, have a delicious meal again and a large fresh salad along with wonderful service.
Thank you!
See you again in the fall.
Judith

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    48
    31
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Several members of our extended family really enjoy this place so you may too. My experience is it reminds me very much of Western Sizzlin' or one of those cheap steak houses. It has a salad bar which I think is gross so any restaurant with that looses major points with me and the steaks are poor quality. Grab one at the grocery and fire up the grill and you'll be much happier. I love steak, but I want it to be good. Flemming's is great and Outback is even good if you get the filet. This place doesn't come close to either.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Staff was terrific and helpful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were looking for a nice meal (not too expensive) with some atmosphere and a view of the mountains. Stonewalls was great........ Food, view and service. Just as we were finishing eating and paying, a huge rain storm came up. The staff didn't seem to mind that we waited at our table until the storm had subsided, they just refilling our drink glasses! Friendly staff!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We went here one night as was recommended by several locals. They had a nice special, (salad bar, entree and dessert for 25.00). This was a great price and the food was ok. The salad bar was the highlight of the meal and was well stocked and fresh.

Service was good and the server was friendly to our kids and engaged them in conversation.

Not my top pick if we return to area, but a nice quieter place to eat.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best service and best food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Our waitress, Marcia, was fantastic tonight. We have bed going to Stone Walls for 12 summers, and have never experienced anything but excellent food and fantastic service!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewalls also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Stonewalls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewalls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.