We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good Italian choice in banner elk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sorrento's Bistro

Sorrento's Bistro
140 Azalea Circle, Village Shops, Downtown, Banner Elk, NC 28604-9238
(828) 898-5214
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 42 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another good Italian choice in banner elk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Had a great meal and service at sorted tons bistro in banner elk. We walked in on dec 23rd without a reservation. They were quickly able to accomodate us at the bar. We had the stuffed mushrooms and veal Marsala and the tortellini. All of the food was good and cooked to order so keep that in mind. It is worth the wait!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    58
    19
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice bar, nice atmosphere & loved those olives.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stopped in for drinks & a snack. The bartender was personable and attentive. When we asked, we were provided with some lovely little complimentary rolls with olive oil and balsamic. When I asked further, we were given some wonderful olives with garlic (love garlic!).

We did order bruchetta and I had high hopes, however, the bread was very dry and fairly tasteless. The tomato topping had almost none of the seasoning typical of bruchetta. We would not bother to order that again, though we think we would like to return to this nice restaurant and try their dinner menu.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were in Banner Elk for 5 days and tried several restaurants. This was the best.
The food and presentation is excellent and the service is as well. Nichole took good care of us. We actually had two servers helping with suggestions. The atmosphere is contemporary but with a local flavor in the art.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Very glad we tried it! Artichoke app special was delicious, as was everything else. Chicken parm was tender and generous portion, bread was excellent. Waitress was very sweet as well!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cute / Delicious Italian Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had a great experience at Sorrento's on a Saturday night. The main dining pizzeria area was a little loud when we first walked in but the server sat us in a quiet intimate dining room next door (where there were other small tables with couples). The server was a little slow bringing us our waters but he was wonderful after that. Very prompt with wine and food. Food was awesome. My boyfriend is Italian and critical of Italian food but loved everything. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorrento's Bistro also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Sorrento's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorrento's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.