We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent bed and breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banner Elk Winery & Villa

Save Saved
You added Banner Elk Winery & Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Banner Elk Winery & Villa
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   60 Deer Run Lane, Banner Elk, NC 28604 (Formerly Blueberry Villa and Banner Elk Winery)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
“excellent bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a "girls get away weekend" at Banner Elk. The accommodations were great. But the BEST were the breakfasts prepared by Jackie!!!! Delicious doesn't even describe how good they were. The wine tasting and tour given by Cody was very informative. We really enjoyed the total trip!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    16
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
12
107
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at Banner Elk just one night on the way home from a weekend at a friend's house. Arriving on a yucky, overcast day in March the views of the property were not as pretty but it was easy to imagine them on a sunny summer day. We were shown our room and given information on our stay by friendly staff. They even had a nice binder full of detailed information on the activities and restaurants in Banner Elk. Wish we had been able to stay longer so we could have partaken in the outdoor activities it had suggested. We had asked for a wine tasting when we arrived but there had been some miscommunication since it was a Monday and the winery isn't open its usual hours. They were able to still make it happen for us and the person doing the wine tasting even gave us a bottle of wine on the house because of the mix-up. Plus, all of the wines were very good. Overall the stay was very relaxing. The breakfast was dynamite and the bed sheets smelled really good! The only reason I'm not rating it as excellent is because I still think it is too pricey.

Room Tip: Bordeaux room was a nice size with a large window with a great view. The bathroom with the jacuzzi t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I were really shocked at the poor experience we had at the Banner Elk Winery and Villa. We arrived mid-afternoon in March to find that the roads leading up to and around the villa property were covered in ice and snow. We attempted to drive up the main road to the villa entrance (the road is a fairly steep hill), but about 75% of the way up, my SUV stalled and then slid backwards down the hill--an extremely frightening experience. Is it not the duty of any establishment such as a high-end inn to salt the roads so that customers can safely arrive at their property?

We ended up parking below the villa at the winery and trudging up the hill in the snow with all of our belongings, only to find that no one was there to greet us; there was only an envelope with our names on it telling us which room was ours. When I called the number on the paper, it took several tries to even get anyone, and when I did, they seemed completely unconcerned about the state of the roads and did not even ask if we or the car were alright. They promised that someone was in the process of salting the roads, but based on my observations over 2.5 days, no one ever did. The entirety of our stay we were very tense getting onto and off of the property, particularly after dark. I should also add that we drove around Banner Elk and the surrounding areas a good bit, and no other shopping center, restaurant or inn had left their roads in such a condition.

Other than this bad start, my main complaint is about the complete lack of any assistance in the villa. During our time there we never once encountered someone who was involved in guest services. There were chefs who came one night to cook for a couple, one of whom also came back for breakfasts, and there was someone who appeared to be an event planner who came once, but at no time were we greeted by any of these people or asked how our stay was going. The letter we received upon arrival gave us phone numbers but also the impression that we should only call them if the house were burning down. I'm honestly not even sure that they even employ someone to deal with guests, other than those coming for special events with whom they need to coordinate weddings, massage appointments, private meals, etc.

Breakfast was fine but because the main course usually ended up being extremely high-calorie and/or rich (ex. buttery sausage bread), I just ended up having eggs and bacon and yogurt. Decor is fine; the bamboo/equatorial flora theme seemed kind of incongruous with the surroundings, but not a big deal.

The room they gave us was the handicapped-accessible room by the back entrance, so we were unable to let any natural light into the room as the only source were the glass doors leading out to the back patio (by which everyone entering the villa passed); we also had to listen to the back door open and slam dozens of times per day as it was directly next to our room's door. You're not allowed to use anything in the kitchen or store your food in the fridge.

The bottom line is, if I wanted to stay in an abandoned hotel with a kitchen I wasn't allowed to use and a bunch of strangers hogging the common space, I could have done it a heck of a lot more cheaply and comfortably.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Zinfandel room on the bottom back level...your only natural light comes from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Banner Elk Winery and Villa is a must experience for any couple in Love. From the majestic views that surround the estate to the smallest detail that is observed, the simplest moments become lifetime memories that will forever draw you back. The property is second to none and the service is beyond flawless. The winery quietly boasts a refined rustic atmosphere and is the perfect place to enjoy a glass of blueberry wine. Their rooms are immaculate yet relaxed and give you a sense of home. It is nestled in the eclectic town of Banner Elk that turns a short drive into breathtaking adventure. Excitement is commingled with a peaceful calmness as you explore all an outdoor adventure. And every magical moment can be summed up and served to you in the greatest conceivable breakfast ever created. It will quickly become your new favorite place.

Room Tip: Hard to imagine a grander room than the Cabernet Suite but I am certainly going to see every other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I just stayed a lovely weekend at the Banner Elk Winery and Villa. We stayed in the Cabernet Suite which is large with a king size bed, 2 sitting areas, one in front of the fireplace, and large bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. The bed was very comfy and smelled very clean. It is a beautiful house with 3 floors. It was a great location in Banner Elk. My husband and I go to Banner Elk a lot and you are close to many of the attractions. Each morning you get a breakfast that is included. It was very good. We had fruit, gravy and biscuits, eggs, grits, and more. They do say it will begin at 9 am but it began around 9:30 when we were there. Some may need to bring something to hold them over if that is to late for them. Having breakfast with all the guests was nice. You were able to see what everyone had decided to do with the time in Banner Elk. The winery which is just a little walk from the Inn was great. We did a tasting of the wines and they were very good. My husband loved the blueberry wine. The people working the winery were very friendly as well. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, this is the place. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Cabernet Suite is large with a fireplace and overlooks the vinyard...Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We drove about 10 hours from Baltimore, MD (on the weekend of the Super Bowl!) to get to this place, and from the moment we arrive, it was worth every second. The wine tasting room was warm and inviting, the staff was friendly and SO ACCOMMODATING! We were so pleased with the room and the overall atmosphere...it was very "make yourself at home". Breakfast was delicious, and we had some snow that weekend as well. One of my favorite little touches was the jacuzzi jet tub! On a snowy night, it was the perfect way to unwind. I was carefree and smiling the entire weekend. Ashley, Cody, and Jackie do an amazing job of making sure the place runs smoothly and the guests are happy! :-)

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I had a great time at the villa. The winery is great also. Some really good wine. We also were greeted by one of the owners at the winery, a special treat! The breakfasts were specially prepared each morning. This is just a special place to go for a perfect getaway. We are looking forward to returning in the spring! Each room is different with great attention to detail and comfort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banner Elk Winery & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banner Elk Winery & Villa

Address: 60 Deer Run Lane, Banner Elk, NC 28604 (Formerly Blueberry Villa and Banner Elk Winery)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banner Elk Winery & Villa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Banner Elk Winery and Villa, a luxury bed and breakfast... it's a magical world.Nestled in the awe inspiring majestic Blue Ridge Mountains stands North Carolina High Country's original winery. Come for a tasting and tour, or stay for a week at The Villa, a highly elegant Bed & Breakfast that offers an idyllic setting, luxurious accommodations, and unrivaled service for discerning travelers.The age-old tradition of winemaking made its debut in the region with the establishment of Banner Elk Winery and Villa, the first commercial winery built in Avery and Watauga counties. Banner Elk wines pay tribute to the rugged mountain landscape and capture the delicate nuance and subtle flavors of the fruit. Our vintners produce excellent award winning wines that reflect the unique characteristics of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Whether you are interested in a wine tasting or guided tour, learning more about the art and science of winemaking, or just relaxing with a glass of wine, we welcome you to Banner Elk Winery & Villa.Restore your soul in the ambience of our Tuscan inspired Villa. We offer eight beautifully appointed suites, two with private fireplaces. Each features a king or queen-sized luxury mattress bed adorned in the finest linens and abundant pillows, private jacuzzi tubs, and thick plush robes. Breathtaking mountain views from every window several with semi-private terraces.Wake each morning to a complimentary chef-prepared gourmet breakfast in The Villa before you explore the gorgeous High Country where you can hike, bike, ski, fly fish, or play one of the many championship golf courses. Have a private massage in your suite, or enjoy a visit to Banner Elk's premier spa for additional services. Taste the wine, taste the produce, and taste a bit of luxury. It's the perfect place to relax, re-inspire, and rejuvenate – both inside and out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Banner Elk Winery & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banner Elk Winery & Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.