We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banner Elk Winery & Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Banner Elk Winery & Villa to your Saves list
Banner Elk Winery & Villa
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   60 Deer Run Lane, Banner Elk, NC 28604 (Formerly Blueberry Villa and Banner Elk Winery)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
Winston Salem, North Carolina, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great vacation destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our room was clean and very spacious. We appreciated being able to bring our 7 year old daughter and there was plenty of space for all 3 of us. Loved the views and the refreshingly cool mountain air. Enjoyed sitting on the porch in the morning with our coffee. The chef, Jacyln, was not only a good cook but also an excellent hostess. Her friendliness and pleasant personality made us feel very comfortable. We also enjoyed the wine tasting that is included with a stay at the inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    17
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
12
114
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Jackie and Cody bent over backwards to take care of all the guests despite the Inn Keeper being called away at the spur of the monent due to a death in her family. Our rooms were ready in time and were clean and all ammenities in place. Breakfast was wonderful each day. I had a billing problem that required a phone call and Jackie took care of that before we checked out on our last day. They made us feel like family even with a hug when we left.

I will brag on this visit to everyone and anyone that will listen.

Room Tip: All rooms at this villa are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I spent our first anniversary at the Banner Elk Winery and Villa and had an amazing time!

Our mornings were spent on the porches with cups of coffee taking in the beautiful views and mountain breezes, followed by delicious breakfasts and great conversations from other guests. Our days were filled hiking on the parkway and exploring Boone/ASU, my nearby Alma mater. Our afternoons were spent cuddled up on the porch with a glass of wine relaxing and taking in the peacefulness of the mountains. And our evenings dining at local restaurants and returning to the most amazing bed ever.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our first visit and we definitely will return. Our 3 night stay was remarkable as the staff went above and beyond our expectations making us feel right at home. From the picnic baskets that were packed for our day trips to the rose petals placed in the room for our wedding night, one couldn't have been pampered more. Our meals were excellent and the attention given to detail making sure our wedding went smoothly proved that this staff are top notch professionals. The villa setting is wonderful and the photos of our wedding from high above the upper vinyard has everyone asking about the location and telling us how beautiful it is. Thanks again to all those at Banner Elk Winery and Villa and a special thanks to Michelle, Danielle, Val, Jackie, and Cody for making our stay (and wedding) a remarkable and romantic weekend we will never forget. Dave and Ann

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville, nc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is our third visit to the villa, and I must say sadly that the general appearance of the facility is showing signs of wear and neglect. The flower beds alongside the walkway to the main entrance are filled with tall weeds. The cushion on the settee as you step up onto the front porch has a 6 inch tear in the fabric. The carpet in our bedroom was soiled in numerous areas.

On a positive note, the breakfast prepared by Jackie and Cody were extraordinary. Ashley our hostess at the winery was informative and entertaining!

We hope that improvements are made to the villa, as it is a wonderful facility in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White House, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Not gonna be able to write a long review, but dont let that dilute my enthusiasum for this wonderful B&B. Wine was great (went home with a case). Facilities were fabulous. Food was better than MOMS. Staff were so friendly, we felt like family after 2 nights. Best view in the whole mountain chain was when they set us up in the north vinyard for picnic and wine. (note:go on up past the cattle gate and around the sharp right turn....up about 200 yards more and thats the spot). We had a pure MAJESTIC and romantic couple of hours up there. YOU will never forget it. Dont let anything pull you away from booking this place. You will love it. Michelle, Lindsay, Val, Holly and Ashley, Thank you so much for a great weekend get-away!

Room Tip: Book one of the suites....they are SWEET!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We arrived Sunday about 4pm..checked into the Blueberry Inn...Then down to the winery for some wonderful wines....Very nice and the staff are outstanding..
This is our fourth visit..and guess what? We are already making plans for a return for more days..
We stayed in the Blueberry room...overlooking the estate and winery..lovely...
The place is very nicely decorated and taken care of.
Breakfast on Monday and Tuesday were just right.. Thanks for making our mini vacation a real treat..See you in 2013!

Room Tip: We liked the 2nd floor because we live on the 2nd floor at our home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banner Elk Winery & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banner Elk Winery & Villa

Address: 60 Deer Run Lane, Banner Elk, NC 28604 (Formerly Blueberry Villa and Banner Elk Winery)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banner Elk Winery & Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Banner Elk Winery and Villa, a luxury bed and breakfast... it's a magical world.Nestled in the awe inspiring majestic Blue Ridge Mountains stands North Carolina High Country's original winery. Come for a tasting and tour, or stay for a week at The Villa, a highly elegant Bed & Breakfast that offers an idyllic setting, luxurious accommodations, and unrivaled service for discerning travelers.The age-old tradition of winemaking made its debut in the region with the establishment of Banner Elk Winery and Villa, the first commercial winery built in Avery and Watauga counties. Banner Elk wines pay tribute to the rugged mountain landscape and capture the delicate nuance and subtle flavors of the fruit. Our vintners produce excellent award winning wines that reflect the unique characteristics of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Whether you are interested in a wine tasting or guided tour, learning more about the art and science of winemaking, or just relaxing with a glass of wine, we welcome you to Banner Elk Winery & Villa.Restore your soul in the ambience of our Tuscan inspired Villa. We offer eight beautifully appointed suites, two with private fireplaces. Each features a king or queen-sized luxury mattress bed adorned in the finest linens and abundant pillows, private jacuzzi tubs, and thick plush robes. Breathtaking mountain views from every window several with semi-private terraces.Wake each morning to a complimentary chef-prepared gourmet breakfast in The Villa before you explore the gorgeous High Country where you can hike, bike, ski, fly fish, or play one of the many championship golf courses. Have a private massage in your suite, or enjoy a visit to Banner Elk's premier spa for additional services. Taste the wine, taste the produce, and taste a bit of luxury. It's the perfect place to relax, re-inspire, and rejuvenate – both inside and out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Banner Elk Winery & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banner Elk Winery & Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.